Today's drawing a mermaid enjoying a good read

in #ntopaz6 years ago

ntopaz-image-0Here is a section of today's sketch

The entire piece, revealing our scholarly lady is indeed a mermaid.
march23mermaid.jpg

I was dreaming of mermaids this morning

most likely brought on by more snow today. Looking out at the falling white stuff just had me imagining swimming out in the cool Summer waters.

I had planned to possibly do a black and white today.

But, my black and whites always start out as more detailed sketches. And when I am considering a sketch for black and white I might take it a different direction paying even more attention to lights and darks.

This was also planned to be part of the @ntopaz black and white illustration contest,

but I'm not sure if I'm too late for that. I was going to change the other day's drawing into it, but decided I'd just start a new one. And yet I've not inked it so I'll leave it today.

I think this sketch just built up with dreams of warm Summer waters

so I played more and more with the 'sketchiness' of it. I'm not sure if she will be a black and white or not. Possibly she'll get some colour, like my last mermaid sketch.

I can't believe it is already the weekend

though in some respects 'weekends' don't happen for me in the more traditional sense, but noticing the days flying by on the calendar this month has been a bit jarring.

How is it almost the end of March?

Well Time, like a mermaid's tail, can be slippery and hard to get a good purchase. What can we do?

I've much to do today, so I'll close now with today's sketch and my hope that all of you aren't feeling the rush of the month as much as I am. Let's hope you can get to all the things on your list for this month. Maybe knowing others aren't behind will encourage me onward, who can say?

Feel free to upvote, resteem, and by all means comment.

My Previous Post: My Drawing inspired by Vaporwave Music

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Snow!?! Poor you! It's been 20 degrees here today :) It was so lovely that I went out in my t-shirt :)

I like your sketch! Are you going to color it as well? I would love to see it :)

I hope you'll have some time to relax during the weekend :) Have a lovely time!

Wow @deilshtreats 20 degrees! I'm jealous. It looks like it might be a bit warmer today but that is all relative. I'll not see 20 C until May most likely.

I hope you are having a lovely weekend, enjoying your fine weather!

One very well dressed mermaid! Do the clothes present problems when swimming about underwater? XD What's she reading and is the book waterproof or is it something she has to come up to enjoy? Looks good :D

Thanks @ryivhnn , Well, as she is a mythical and we can presume magical being I'd assume or imagine her clothes can either appear as needed above water, to replicate the joy of her fins swaying when underwater or simply manage to flow about nicely when IN the water. Really, it's whatever the viewer decided I suppose :)

In my mind I see it as a cliff edge on some pokey up column of rock in a fantasy novel type setting :0)

I like that @meesterboom and surely a 'fantasy' setting is the right neighbourhood for this gal :)

Her poor book is going to get soggy!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's a calm day, so no waves to splash her page :)

Ohh no more snow but in a way it is great as it made you dream of warmer days and this awesome piece of art

No worries it melted. Spring is on the way @tattoodjay

YEs soon we will all be rejoicing the full arrival of spring :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Ooooh, I like it! Your mermaid is much more elegantly dressed than mine, but I love how everyone seems to envision them differently. Nice work! And good luck in th contest!

That is what is so great about fantasy art, eh @hglucky13 we can create whatever we like :)

Chilly times for you! I've been enjoying the sunshine in the garden today. Wish I had a bit more time on my hands like that mermaid though, I could use some reading time at the moment.

Me too, with the reading time desired @opheliafu we are getting warmer now and excited about Spring.

So beautiful woman!!! There are a lot of interesting details in this sketch and I love to think about a girl with a beautiful dress and she's a mermaid, great! ^_^

Fully dressed and reading. Such a strange and wonderful drawing. Victorian mermaids will never be the same again.

Yes, I suppose even my mermaids enjoy a corset more than their breasts flowing freely :) Fabric makers would make a killing in My version of Reality eh @katharsisdrill ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66331.68
ETH 2720.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87