Gray Seagull (acrylic)

in #undefined5 years ago (edited)

Hi friends!

Today I tell you how I drew thispicture - gray seagull proudly walking in the sand.
I maded this drawing on Golos to one art contest.
I live far from sea but I very like seagulls, but I live far from sea, because I use a ref from internet in my work.

Чайка_6.jpg

Sketch by pensil

Чайка_1.jpg

Materials which I used: watercolor paper, some colors of acrylic paints, three brushes different sizes.

Краски и кисти для чайки.jpg

A, yes... and medium for acrylic paints.

Замедлитель.jpg

I started my drawing with paint bucket of background.
The sea behind the seagull I painted with a mix of blue and grass green, above it is more green, below it is more blue.
On a lighted side of the gull, I maked the background a bit darker. In order to highlight the bird even better add blue (cobalt).
The sand is obtained by mix the colors of red and canary yellow.
I prescribe the foreground with this mixture, and the back one with ivory added to make it lighter and less contrast, according to the tonal perspective.

Чайка_2.jpg

Then I painted most intense details of the seagull - beak, legs, wings, feathers on the tail.
Outlines areas where there will be shadows.

Чайка_3.jpg

In next step I mixed a white paint with a bit gray and drew a shadow around the eyes and under the beak. Darker gray with the addition of black highlight some feathers on a wings.
Further, I added a bit of gray to ivory to painting shadows at a bottom of the abdomen (it is warmer because it's reflexes from a sand).
I drew a visible eye and a shadow of an eyelid of another eye.

Чайка_4.jpg

Finally, some little details - to correct a shadows on the wings, on a legs, to trace an eye, a glare on tip of a beak. I Added some large pebbles or lumps of sand in a foreground
And, of course, the falling shadow under a seagull's legs is a contrast and short one, because the day is sunny and a bird is practically under direct rays of sun.
And since the shadows in the drawing turned out to be mostly warm, I make it a mix of red and cobalt, closer to warm violet.

Чайка_5.jpg

So nice walking seagull I did))

Чайка_6.jpg

Have a nace day!
Gera

Cross-post (and translated in English) from Golos

Sort:  

Congratulations @daring-celt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37