I CRY FOR NOTRE DAME - 10 pictures from past trips

in #notredame5 years ago

The news of the fire that has destroyed Notre-Dame de Paris cathedral really has effected me more than I expected.

SHOCKED AND PAINED

That's over 800 years of history gone in a single day. It took about 100 years to build it.
Over 10 Million people visit every year. And i think of those who are inspired by it's beauty and inspired by the symbols that point them to God.

And now it's mostly gone... and it really does bring tears to my eyes.

WHY RELIGIOUS BUILDINGS MATTER

One year of my life I dedicated completely to photographing religious buildings in the United States and I gained an appreciation for what the buildings mean and how they help people in so many ways. They teach archetypal stories in their symbolism. They provide gathering places for communities. And more and more I realize how art and beautiful creations can really lift and inspire the human spirit. Notre-Dame was one of the most recognized works of beauty in our world. This is no small thing what happened today.

I think of the thousands that no doubt worked to create this symbol of their faith and love.
I think of all those who go and feel inspired by the spirit or even just the beauty and the capacity of the human creativity.
It's really quite sad to me...

MY IMAGES

In any case I'll share some pictures from past trips. I really haven't gone in almost 7 years so these are all quite old.

2012

I went to photograph a wedding for a french couple and while there I spent a couple days touring the city.

2010

I photographed another wedding ... and also got opportunities this time to go inside

One of my favorite experiences that year (9 years ago) was playing with long exposures and focusing on the birds of Notre-Dame which if anyone has gone you know it's kind of a part of the experience in a place like this.

2006

One year after getting my very first DSLR i made a trip to Europe ... plenty of bad/blury shots but there's one redeemable image I liked

I don't have any pictures from my 2004 trip... I would guess that I went and visited Notre-Dame but back then I was taking like 1 megapixel images with my first camera... a Casio. haha

2010 Wedding

In 2012 we didn't get much at this location at least not that made it to my collection gallery that I had access to today.
But in 2010 there were a couple of images with the building that I thought i'd also share.

Sort:  

Resteemed..sad times.

I’ve been to Norte dame and it was spectacular. Sad day for everyone.

Amazing pictures though to remember the times you’ve been then.

Posted using Partiko iOS

:( Heartbreaking to see the destruction of such a beautiful landmark. Sad moment from the heart of Paris :(
Let’s hope they can save the towers.

These are great. Thanks for sharing the beautiful pictures you captured and more your thoughts and feelings about its destruction. So sad.

Yeah, I was literally bawling today, this was awful.

So freaking sad.

I am in mourning for an old friend.

and it probably happened because some kind of stupid thing :(


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @jarvie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.225 which ranks you at #240 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 245).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 212 contributions, your post is ranked at #10.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98