Drunk Writing

Photo on 6-24-16 at 11.jpg

I am quite pissed in this picture. In fact, I am pretty pissed in all my pictures. I only take photographs when I am drunk enough and relaxed enough not to care. Or remember.

Writers have a long and complicated relationship with alcohol. I have always wondered why. Is it because we are simply overwhelmed by the amount of absolute shit crowding our brains at every waking moment? Are we such a fragile lot that we need to numb our abusive self doubt? Does being under the influence of something really swing open the flood gates of creativity? I mean, we can't all be characters in the same asylum. Can we?

The rub, for me, is that I cannot write while drunk. I mean that literally. My handwriting becomes scrawls of violent scratches on the paper. Whatever monster that lives inside me desperately tries to claw her way out. If paper could bleed, I'd awake in a pool of blood. Unfortunately, my monster is illiterate. She's all bark and no bite.

Thank God for typewriters and computers, am I right?

Sort:  

Up-voted and followed, because I want to see more of your writing.

Thank you! Yes, I will follow you, too

Acid/Mushrooms are incredible for writing inspiration and maintains a steady hand... just sayin'!

Oh, and since you're a writer - Following!

Ha! Thank you for the advice

My monster is literate. When I wake up after a drunk night, I find messages written to the sober me.

I don't know which is worse!

So here you are @neverapen , great post, amazing read!
Looking forward for more !
Upvoted and resteemed

You've been such a help, thank you!

Keep on sharing such contents, it is simply great!
You've got a die hard follower

My first die-hard follower! I am eager to hear more feedback from you, and I have started following you, as well!

In my experience a little taste of the green stuff makes the internal dialogue flow. It's easy to transcend thoughts to paper when those thoughts are basically screaming at you.

It's so strange, why we write, and what helps the juices flow. I think we're all crazy, and that's a compliment!

Maybe we're all just crazy for each other.

ha, which, of course, is why we're here

And why we always will be? We're gonna have to see.

I really miss the blood on the paper myself, these cold finger taps and the headache glow of the screen, crafting feeling less words placed methodically, so erasable, untraceable.

You are really talented!

@neverapen , i dont always drink , and i get wasted quickly , dont wanna crawl to my bedromm though , getting high a bit then hangover ... ti tik tok and then boom , i find a pen in my hand writing a killer article , cant figure out the relatioship between writing after drinking , but there is 2 types of people: ones who drink and become silly with a low self esteem , ones who see drinking and treat it like a subtile art to be a door way to their absolute creativity

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23