Day 133: Five Minute Freewrite ~ Thusday-Prompt: The Attic~ Original Photography and Five Minute Freewrite ~

in #noboogeymanintheattic6 years ago (edited)

P1290009-1 284kb.jpg

Our Attic Had A Fancy Window Where This Decorative Piece Is



Five Minute Freewrite: The Attic


As a small child, certain places of life are off limits. And not always because the parental-units deem it that way. No, it's more of a lack of any idea, or inspiration. Or even any realization that an area EXISTS. Such as the large sphere of city-scape surrounding our family home, well beyond a few blocks in any walking, cardinal direction. I had no idea anything even existed , except in the car, beyond this area. Which included parts of our house as well.

Though, I was COMPLETELY aware of our basement. My brother and his friends never let me forget the Boogey Man lived down there, behind the furnace. A "ghosty image, with glowing, blood-purple eyes the size of footballs, who uses his pocket knife to pull out your eye, spit on it, then throw it at you, which causes it to blow up.” I believed every word of it.

STAY OUT OF THE BASEMENT ! Particularly if the lights were off.

The attic? Well, that was another story. I never even THOUGHT about going up there. Not because my brother and his friends had a monster hidden up there. Or my parents had ever told me to stay away. I just never thought about the place. Ever. It was just the 'whatever area' above the ceiling of my room, out of view and reach.

But later in life, when I was 10 or so, it became a world all it's own. Started off by the discovery of the closet in the garage, that opened at the ceiling into the attic. Climbing my Dad's shovel rack up through the rafters opened up a magical world previously unknown to me. Nothing important up there, but a few boxes and other things tossed up by my parents, because there was no better place to put them. And the Christmas decorations. They were stacked there too, of course. Not too exciting.

But now, it was the ATTIC! An area new to me in my tiny world. I would sit up there for hours, looking out the little fancy octagonal, multi-pane window above the garage, watching the cars drive down our street. Every twenty minutes or so one would go by. What WAS the fascination with this? Was it that they did not know I existed at that moment? Or that...

Yaarg, there is goes again

~Finto~



Thanks for stopping in and viewing my fourth Five Minute Freewrite. If you have any thoughts about areas of the world that opened up as you became older, sitting in the attic when there were MUCH better things to do, Boogey Men in your basement, or anything else this post reminds you of, please feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.



Here is the link to the post about the Five Minute Freewrite, put on by @mariannewest:
[Day 133: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday- Prompt: The Attic]





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Posted: 03/01/2018 @ 18:45



P1050887-1 48kb no name.jpg


Excerpts From Late-Night Conversations With A Mechanical Cat

Fact Number 42

Five minute Freewrite ATTIC  Little Kitty Claws.PNG

Sort:  

But ... what happened to the window?

The boogeyman got jelous and now the window is gone!

That Boogeyman is a powerful dude, that's for sure.

Hanging from the cliff of timerville...

Damn you writers 8-P.

Thanks a Lot For Sharing.Happy Steemit.

Thanks, Happy Steemit to you too.

Always interesting to think about what kind of forgotten items exist in the attics of some of the old houses.

One thing I painfully learned is that storing things in the attic in cardboard boxes or plastic hefty bags is a really bad idea if you live somewhere that gets really hot. Eventually, over a decade or two, the heat breaks down the cardboard and plastic and they just fall apart.

That would be an interesting inventory/photo session. Attics of the world. There was a book that came out, household items of the world. Ever seen it? It is mind boggling the differences world-wide. You can imagine what country had the largest inventory. (I certainly can't say anything about it, as I do tend to collect cool, old or antique 'stuff'.)

That's a bummer about the storage of things in the heat. Good to know. I should go check that myself, as I have some things in the attic, and the summer is VERY hot. Thanks for the tip. (Just make sure I only go up there in the daylight ( :

Dad's Shovel Rack = Band name?

Classic, I love that as a band name. Maybe you can put one together...

Actually it is not about the attic but when you say childhood fears it reminds me Stephen King's Clown..."It" i remember when i was twelve i watched the its old version...and i feared a long time the street manholes cover and i also feared vampires because of the movie of The Vampire Hunters... :D

Thanks you for your sharing and have a nice day my friend...

I remember those fears well. Thanks for the reminder about that. If I watched a scary movie, I was affected for days. And could not be convinced there weren't things living under the bed, or the basement, or that scorpions or tarantulas were NOT 100 pounds and didn't even live in our part of the world. Small child fears are so real, especially with TV input and all. Have a nice day as well.

What a great memory and place to call your own as a child!!! Thank you for sharing!!

You have worked very hard today and now it's time to relax your mind while doing today's 5-minute Freewrite prompt! Prompt: Plaid

Thanks, it is nice to have our own corners of the world. (Don't think my Mom knew I was up there....I was good at climbing down fast when she called me, run to the back yard, then come in the back door...."you called"?) Sneaky little people, weren't we?

Very nice story @ddschteinn.

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it.

If the boogeyman lives in the basement, what the hell lives in the attic? 😕

LOL... We probably don't even want to know. I only went up there in the daylight. Who KNOWS what I would have found in the dark. Scaaarryy.

You had mean brothers!!

Brothers do tend to be hard on little brothers. Must be kind of universal. Though in reality, he did treat me pretty well most of the time. I think some of his friends were the larger problem. Guess you don't get in as much trouble when you harass the kids NOT related to you. Though a little brother will put up with a lot, if allowed to follow them around in their day. Amazing how important that part was. "He's a good big brother, he only punches me in the upper arm". Amazing when you really think back about it with an adult mind.

I looked a little late, my friend. I am sorry about that.
I was a little sick.
again a great post :)
all of us had some fears :)
congratulations.

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it. Amazing how everyone has such strong memories of things in the past, and some odd fears that finally go away. Luckily. Though rather fun to re-live in writing. I hope you are feeling better these days, sorry to hear you were under the weather. Have a nice night.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62