58 and counting...

in #nigeria6 years ago

images.jpg

image source

Happy Independence Day to my dear country Nigeria. It's 58 years already. 58 years of what though? Lol. I know I shouldn't say this here and now but I just can't help but do that.
I don't think we have been independent since 1960, at least not in our minds. Majority of us still attach more importance to everything foreign, citizens and government alike. That brings me to ask the question: are we really free? Though it is true we are no longer in physical shackles and bondage but are we mentally free? Can we really be responsible for ourselves and make ourselves grow?
For me, I think as a country, we have been living like a child who just left home, who is trying to find his feet which is an irony because we are 58 today. Any one who is 58 shouldn't be classified as a child but sad truth is that that is what we are as a country. Truly, age doesn't determine maturity.
I hope and pray that we somehow go back to the way we were when we were called the giants of Africa.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30