You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Onboarding the masses! We've got to onboard the masses!

in #newsteem4 years ago (edited)

A very important subject!
We all were newbies, and personally I remember how lost and sad I was when you are just invisible or ignored by all the rest because 1. You are not a whale, 2. you are not a dolphin, 3. You are not a whale's friend, 4. You don't have friends here at all.
And even if you make a good post, a piece of shit from a man with great SP earns hundreds times more.
It kills hopes and wishes to go on.
If Linda (@ca-co)had not supported me that time, I would have left too.
It's very hard not to have any support!

In Russian clon of steemit, there was a scheme for supporting newbies. There were curators, who chose good posts, and they were upvoted by whales and they got definite amount of gbg (our sbd). It was great motivation! The activity grew very much! All people wanted to be in the list of chosen ones, and they were active and created good content. I was a curator there, and I remember it well.

Now there are such services and initiatives from esteem, ocd but maybe more of them are needed.

Sort:  

With the clone you mean Golem I think? Does the supporting system overthere still function well? And are you still there?, and curating?

Initiatives like esteem and ocd are ok, but to my opinion not "ready" enough to support the real big masses we want to onboard.

yes, absolutely, they do great mission, but they don't cover and maybe can't cover all good content here.
The clon is Golos. No, I am not there now. I left it 2 years ago and came to Steemit. As far as I know there were great changes there, and they influenced on the platform negatively. Actually, the platform worked fine when I came there, but very soon it began to crush. The problems were alike: if you are not a friend of a whale, you have low chances to suceed. Even if you are a genius. Moreover, you had to know what to say and how, because you could lose support of influencial people easily. For example, I lost it in the same way;) Just wrote some words that irritated "big" men there;) And I must admit, here people are more friendly and open. I was surprised. Maybe because Steemit is much bigger, more international, Golos is more like a cage with snakes and only several nice birds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97