You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Entertainers Should Shut Up About Politics While They Are Working

in #news6 years ago

What I understand you to be arguing is:

  1. Only certain people are qualified to give certain types of speech or public opinion.
  2. People should be limited to their domain of expertise when speaking publicly.
  3. People can only have a deep knowledge in one domain.
  4. Celebrities do not come from the communities all across the country, small towns in the middle more so than the coasts.
  5. Donald Trump wasn't a celebrity who spoke politically publicly despite having no political training or experience.

Dolly's words don't mean celebrities shouldn't talk politics. It means that talking politics is polarizing and she didn't want to divide or alienate her fans by talking politics. It's the essence of political correctness. If you can't say something that all sides can agree on, don't talk about it.

I've only just joined Steem and am not looking to piss people off or make enemies, but I don't think a person's job is a political disqualification and wanted to say something.

Sort:  

No, that's not what I'm saying at all. Please read the last two paragraphs of this post.

You assume I didn't.
"I don't care who you voted for and don't need you bad mouth our leaders. When I want to watch politics I watch CSPAN. Why do I have to listen to actors talking politics? It sucks and needs to stop.

That said, what they do on their personal time as a citizen is their own business, but they should stop using their entertainment platforms to advocate for political policies, especially for policies they don't even follow themselves and politicians should stop using entertainers as a tool to leverage their influence."

A public platform should be used to advocate. People like you and I don't have voices loud enough to get ideas that we hold dear out to others. It's better that it's out in public than privately dumping cash into election funds to sway the people who make choices that affect our lives without us privy to it.

Yes, a public platform should be used for advocating, but not at the Oscars.

They should write a book if they feel that strongly about an issue or run for office. If they were addressing an audience at a political meet up it would make more sense, but at the Oscars? What does a movie industry event have to do with politics? Last thing people need is a lecture full of virtue signal actors who pretend for a living. It's a downer, not the kind of discussion for such an event, and defeats the purpose of why we're congratulating them. Plus, regardless of the issue it just makes them look bad. I wouldn't want my grocer or taxi driver or accountant to do that. People stop inviting friends to parties if they keep spouting their political views and actors should stick to what they are being paid to do at industry events and save their political views for the right time and place. Like you said, self censoring.

I think I can agree here. I haven't seen the Oscars so I don't know the full context, but it seems a bit of a lame time to be giving political speeches. If nothing else, I would think it makes for boring TV.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65834.12
ETH 2676.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89