NYT Sports: So Eager To Bash Trump, They Just Lie; Editor Admits "I'm an idiot"

in #news7 years ago

You might have seen the tweet from the New York Times Sports Twitter account, which, for some reason, has not been removed:

image

Patriots' turnout for President Obama in 2015 vs. Patriots' turnout for President Trump today: http://nyti.ms/2o4Kwj7

link

This tweet, which is a completely made up misrepresentation, spread amongst the leftist news (aka: legacy media) like wildfire, prompting the Patriot's Twitter account to respond directly, saying:

These photos lack context. Facts: In 2015, over 40 football staff were on the stairs. In 2017, they were seated on the South Lawn.

link

This was such an embarrassing fake news story that the NYT Sports editor, Jason Stallman, took full responsibility for misleading the public, saying in an email to the Washington Post:

“Bad tweet by me. Terrible tweet. I wish I could say it’s complicated, but no, this one is pretty straightforward: I’m an idiot. It was my idea, it was my execution, it was my blunder. I made a decision in about four minutes that clearly warranted much more time. Once we learned more, we tried to fix everything as much as possible as swiftly as possible and as transparently as possible. Of course, at that point the damage was done. I just needed to own it.”

Moral of the story: if it's too good to be true, and it's about Trump, it's probably #FakeNews.

@shayne

Sort:  

Patriots New England Patriots tweeted @ 20 Apr 2017 - 00:45 UTC

These photos lack context. Facts: In 2015, over 40 football staff were on the stairs. In 2017, they were seated on… twitter.com/i/web/status/8…

NYTSports NYT Sports tweeted @ 19 Apr 2017 - 20:25 UTC

Patriots' turnout for President Obama in 2015 vs. Patriots' turnout for President Trump today:… twitter.com/i/web/status/8…

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83