Watch: Kanye West Discusses His Trump Support On Jimmy Kimmel

in #news6 years ago

On Thursday night rap superstar Kayne West sat down with late-night host Jimmy Kimmel where he was acted questions related to President Donald Trump.

After mentioned the controversy sparked after West publicly acknowledge himself as a Trump supporter, Kimmel asked the rapper if he thought Trump was a good president.

West proceeds to describe situations where he was being bullied by liberals and some of the black community for his support of Trump. He says this motivated him to flaunt what his gut was telling him to do and overcome the fear of being criticized.

“Just as a musician, African American, guy out in Hollywood, all these different things … everyone around me tried to pick my candidate for me and then told me I couldn’t say it out loud or my career would be over, I’d get kicked out the black community,” the rapper told Kimmel.

West goes on:

“Even when I said it right before I went to the hospital and I expressed myself, and when I came out I had lost my confidence. So I didn’t have the confidence to take on the world and the possible backlash and it took me a year and a half to have the confidence to stand up and put on the (MAGA) hat no matter when the consequences were… What it represented to me is not about policies, I’m not a politician, but it represented overcoming fear and doing what you felt no matter what anyone said.”
“You can’t bully me, liberals can’t bully me, news can’t bully me, the hop-hop community they can’t bully me. Because at that point if im afraid to be me I’m no longer (Kanye).”

The interview actually continues on to get very interesting with Kayne giving him take on why people believe history repeats itself and what it takes to breakthrough hive mind mentalities.

While at moments Kayne’s message might be hard to interpret, the gist seems to be that trying to love each other, rather than buy into hateful mob mentalities, is a better path forward for humanity.

Kimmel presses Kayne on the President in terms of family separation at the border and asks what makes the rapper believe he cares about black people to which Kayne enters a state of silent pontification.

The question ended up never being addressed during the appearance but some outlets painted the silence as a stumping by Kimmel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94