You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mozambique’s historic double cyclone never before seen just north of my border leaves over 600 dead and four countries reeling

in #news5 years ago

Wow.

Until your post, I hadn't even heard of such an event taking place. I'm in the US. Granted, I don't watch news channels - I hate to admit it, but I get most of my news from Facebook. However, if it's not on Facebook it's just not being talked about here.

I spent weeks in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina serving meals to people in the devastated areas. It's important work, and I hope your people get their needs met. Do you have links to relief organizations that ARE working that we could share on other media sites?

#powerhousecreatives

Sort:  

Thanks for your positive feedback @mattifer. You are rendering a good service by helping in the aftermath as you did of Hurricane Katrina.

I know there is one charity organization called "Gift of the Givers" that help in situations here. Theremay be others, including international aid groups.

So much is going on that affects millions of people at a time nowadays, and it slips our notice among the mass of data. Just a few days ago a cyclone hit the east coast of India quite badly, like Katrina. It seems to be an annual occurrence somewhere on the planet. And to think how many thousands are left for weeks and months after with their lives ruined. There must be pockets of devastation all over the planet busy trying to return to normality every day. Even Haiti was smashed a year or so back and is probably still in a difficult place.

I wonder if these sorts of things have always been common - but now that we are digitally connected and have SO MUCH access to information, we feel like more should be done. 150 years ago, I had an excuse for not helping with a catastrophe on the other side of the globe. Today, there's no excuse, only an option to help or not help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63642.71
ETH 2605.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81