Has the NFL Become a Puppet for Disney?

in #news7 years ago

I pulled up the ESPN app this afternoon, and went looking for video highlights of Stephen A. and Max. I don’t watch First Take live, but I do scroll through their video feeds on ESPN and Youtube, to see what the talking points are for the day.

What is becoming increasingly disturbing to me is how much coverage First Take is giving to the on and off field issues relating to a brewing American Civil War.

While Max’s speech was eloquent and well thought out, I couldn’t help but feel it was orchestrated. You’re welcome to watch it and share your thoughts.

There has not been enough research yet as to whether the protestors in Charlottesville, VA were paid or not – though Alex Jones has already come out saying so.

The whole thing smells of the Deep State pushing the normalcy of these protests into the American psyche while the economic foundations continue to crumble.

I am not going to go on and on about the conspiracy theories, and the reality that surrounds these issues – each of us could write our own book on those views.

What I will share is an excerpt of a letter from Dietrich Bonhoeffer to his friend Eberhard Bethge – both men lived through a time that is eerily similar. My prayer is that we each seek the truth of what is going on, and prepare our families accordingly.

”I discovered later, and I’m still discovering right up to this moment, that it is only by living completely in this world that one learns to have faith….. One must completely abandon any attempt to make something of oneself, whether it be a saint, or a converted sinner, or a churchman, a righteous man or unrighteous one, a sick man or a healthy one. By this worldliness I mean living unreservedly in life’s duties, problems, successes and failures, experiences, and perplexities. In so doing we throw ourselves completely into the arms of God, taking seriously not our own sufferings, but those of God in the world – watching with Christ in Gethsemane. That, I think, is faith; that is metanoia (Greek for repentance), and that is how one becomes a man and a Christian (Jeremiah 45). How can success make us arrogant, or failure lead us astray, when we share in God’s sufferings through a life of this kind?

I think you see what I mean, even though I put it so briefly, I’m glad to have been able to learn this, and I know I’ve been able to do so only along the road I’ve travelled. So I’m grateful for the past and present, and content with them……

May God in His mercy lead us through these times, but above all, may He lead us to Himself…..

Goodbye. Keep well, and don’t lose hope that we shall all meet again soon. I always think of you in faithfulness and gratitude.”
-Dietrich Bonhoeffer (excerpt from Eric Metaxas’ book Bonhoeffer


Image Source: 1

Video Source: Max's Final Take

Sort:  

As an outsider to American politics (I'm Canadian) I can give an outsider's point of view. My History teacher told me once that the greatest problem America has to solve is racism. I completely believe this. When there were two warring countries in the bosom of a single nation, victory does not come when one side wins, but when both win.

Bonhoeffer talks about metanoia and calls it repentance. Sorry if I sound like @creatr and his Curmudgeon Bible teachings, but metanoia more precisely means a change of heart. That's what is needed in America now--an end to warring factions and a change of heart from being right to being united. We all know what America stands for - I stood at the foot of Abraham Lincoln's statue in Washington - and surely, we can all agree on that - one nation united under God with respect for all. America needs to be reminded of its glorious past - it needs a change of heart.

victory does not come when one side wins, but when both win.

Oh how true. We keep praying for that change of heart.

Way too much politics on ESPN lately.

Max is okay, but Max vs Stephen A isn't a fair fight like it used to be with Skip vs Stephen A.

Agreed.

Skip vs Stephen A. are classics. Shannon holds his own on most days at Undisputed.

Yeah, I like Shannon. Much better than Max, but not quite as eloquent a speaker as Stephen A. I'd like to see Charles Barkley vs Stephen A or Skip.

I'd watch that. It wouldn't be turrible.

All I can say is the media accentuates the small and the negative...always. There are hundreds of millions of people in this country and most of them are decent folk.

True statement....

I hate news manipulation

Good Post
upvote

Thank you.

This post has received a 4.98 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @lydon.sipe.

they don't even do research and do anything they want to

thank you
upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87