Getting the Scary Nuclear Missile Warning in Hawaii (Luckily, False Alarm)

in #news6 years ago (edited)


How's that for waking up on a Saturday morning.


I've woken up, carrying on my morning like any day ... checking my cryptocurrency portfolio via Blockfolio and then out pops this emergency notification on my cell phone.

I see the words "ballistic missile" .. and "not a drill". I'm like SERIOUSLY? WTF!

Immediately, my first reaction is to go talk to my house mate to verify. I text a bunch of my friends to see if anyone else got the message. Turns out, everyone that I know in Hawaii had gotten the message.

The next step was then to check on social media, public radio, and news sources to see if there really is an immediate danger. None was posted when this alert first came out.

Also, the nuclear sirens didn't go off ... so I figured this has GOT to be a mistake. A really, BAD mistake.

And turns out, about 30 minutes later, we get a notification that it was sent an error


Like seriously? What the FUCK? 

I hope to get an explanation. We in Hawaii deserve to get an explanation of what went wrong. 

So many people across the state took it seriously and freaked out.

With the missile strikes in Hawaii only giving us around 15-30 minutes to seek shelter to be ready.

Gosh, we live in fucked up time period again.


How would you react if you got a message like this?


Sort:  

Fear mongering IMHO...nobody is going to shoot a missile into a US territory; it would be suicide. Now a "dirty bomb" is another story. Although who knows, they let Pearl Harbor happen.

As I suspected .. ends up being an employee who pressed the wrong button. Then again though ... I really think something might have actually happened, but they probably fixed it and now covering it up. Who knows, we really live in crazy times!

Very possible, and yes we do!

Wow, man. You guys really are "closer to the action" than in my home State of PA. I'm in Germany right now, so am ever further removed from that situation. Take care over there... :)

Yea man. It's like the history I read about the Cold War ... but now we are living it similar to those times ... today. I hope nothing serious ever happens though.

oh my god! this must have been so shocking! :-o

Yea it was one of those "holy shit" moments. Reading the news reaction made me feel less of an ass ... as everyone else in Hawaii felt the same way!

Crazy stuff man glad your okay.. This is going to be BIG news today Im guessing.

Oh yea ... all over the news worldwide. Had friends texting me if it was true or not LOL.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17