Jessica Jones: A Modern Classic?

in #netflix5 years ago

Well, I just Nexflix and coffeed my way through Jessica Jones, from the beginning, over the last few days. Thankfully I took a few breaks during that time though, for sleep, and massive amounts of food, due to lack of sleep. Insomnia, yet another thing that makes me fat.

Something struck me while watching it though. Jessica Jones is perfect to watch again. There actually aren't a ton of shows like that. I bet I could watch Jessica Jones over again every few months if I wanted to, like Star Trek or Stargate. There are some shows that you can just watch over and over again, and I think Jessica Jones might just be one.

Of course, if I'm gonna be honest, Jessica Jones didn't really WOW me when it first came out. Kilgrave was pretty awesome. Well...he wasn't really awesome...but the story was...and the actor did a killer job. Hehehe...killer... But for some reason it didn't really wow me. It was awesome, but it wasn't really next level.

The second season was a lot worse. It was damn near boring. But at least it had Jessica Jones, the hottest super powered drunk in existence. Look out Iron Man and Batman, she's pushin you out!

Jessica Jones is also perfect for memeing.

Jessica_Jonesdrinktrending.gif
I made dis!

Though trending on PAL isn't quite as bad, for now. It's still got some utter shit though. Might have to start checking it for flagworth things to waste VP on too.

JJreward_pool_rape.gif
I made dis!

Shitposting on Steem is still alive and well of course.

Jessica Jones achieved something that not every show can attain. Somehow, with an imperfect super hero, they created a near perfect show to watch time an time again.

It really isn't the greatest though. They already are repeating plot points in the third season. If they don't release another season that does even better, maybe it will just fade into the background noise.

Then again, she's Jessica fucking Jones.

SPOILER ALERT

And at least she's now finally run out of family members to have as enemies. Like seriously, why did that have to be the plot for Season 2 and Season 3? It wasn't really even that good of a plot. Why couldn't she have faced off with some villain from Hells Kitchen? Why couldn't she have accidentally kicked Daredevil's ass? Oh...well that was probably some bullshit contract shit.

So yeah...they kinda fucked up the plot...but the character is seriously fucking awesome. Even if the whole tortured drunk superhero thing has been done to death. The beauty lies in her portrayal of the character. They seriously need to hire some better writers though. Like the best they could come up with was to revive her mother from the dead and then have it so she couldn't help but kill people...and then do the same thing with her sister? FFS!

Having her face off with a super smart serial killer wasn't bad though. Like a Dexter character...but more traditionally evil. Really a flat character kinda...but not bad.

Yeah...they did seriously need to hire some better writers...but their cast was pretty damn good. They oozed their characters. They were beyond into them.

I think, even if they could have done a lot better on the plot and enemies, somehow it ended up as a show that might actually be infinitely re-watchable.

Sort:  

I've only seen Jessica Jones once but it was pretty amazing. I'll probably watch it again because of this.

You're right, David Tenant (Kilgrave) is pretty amazing. However, I think he is even more amazing in the new adaptation of Good Omens (a 1990 Novel written by Neil Gaiman). It's a 6 episode mini-series on Amazon Prime.

He plays a Demon.

david-tenant-good-omens.jpg

The CGI snake eyes are a bit much... but fuck it.

Yeah, I watched the first episode of Good Omens. It seems good, but perhaps a bit silly in some ways. But I don't have Amazon right now, so I can't really watch it easily.

IIRC, the first episode is a bit more silly than the rest, but yeah, it does have that carefree tone, despite being a story about the apocalypse. I feel that the tone is mostly meant to balance it out into a very well done dark comedy, which is arguably the hardest genre to get right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97