Needlework Monday – Which sleeve to choose

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago

Hi, my Steemit colleagues on hobby !!!

  Today is the #NeedleworkMonday!!! I hope the last week was good for you and everything is all right with you! I continue to work on a black sweater turning it into a cardigan. The last days I worked on the sleeves. I needed to make them a little shorter, so I bent over the part that had to be cut and crocheted a half column at the crook.

image

image

I apologize for the poor quality of the photos: it is difficult to photograph black in bright sunshine. After I cut off the unwanted part, I sew the sleeve to the cardigan.

image

image

I thought about whether to leave the sleeves short or sew the old sleeves. My familiar woman who knits very well with knitting needles, advised me to sew on old sleeves because it will be more beautiful with an openwork pattern. I decided to do it to see how it happened. After all, if I do not like it, I can always remove them.

image

What do you think: is it better with a short sleeve or with a long one?



I wish you creative inspiration and look forward to your work !!!

@tali72

#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille

Sort:  

You are unbelievable :-D You are my fearless knitting hero and one day I will try out cutting a knitted fabric because of you <3
And with the sleeves. I love the appearance of short sleeves, but I find them not very practical. If I need something warm which is knitted, I mostly also need long sleeves. So, I vote for the long sleeves.

hee hee thanks! at least I learned how to cut a knitted fabric well! :)))))) I am also more inclined to the long sleeve

I like it better with the long sleeve: It's not that long and I presume that at the times you wear a woolen sweater you'd prefer if it keeps your arms warm, too ;)

Or perhaps a bit shorter, to the elbows? I've got a T-shirt-like sweater with that length and like to wear it at "it's not that cold but not warm either" times.

thank you very much! Yes, you are right, I prefer my hands to be warm so there are not enough warm sleeveless jackets in my wardrobe. but I like to wear them if they are not knitted from warm yarn when it is fresh but not cold

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Why not use both for a layered look?

I also think something like that

@neumannsalva pretty much said it for me already. I like both, but always think about how something will work in real life. Will you be more likely to wear it if it has sleeves? Do you have an idea what you'll wear it with if you opt for no sleeves? I have a few things I made that I love but never wear. That is too beautiful to suffer the same fate .:)

you're right!!! the main thing is the practical side

Long sleeves are practical while the short sleeves looks so nice. It's difficult ... ;)

This is true! so I could not immediately come to a decision what to choose :)

With short sleeves you gain an excuse to knit a shawl to wear with it on cool days... :)

In Israel, shawls are a familiar part of life. there is a wide variety of them and they are sold at every corner :) I have many kinds of shawls that I already have and if I knit another shawl, I will have to buy a new large wardrobe :))))

I would prefer the longer sleeve, just because if I were to wear it, I can hide my fat arms :D. Or maybe you can make detachable sleeves with buttons or something? So it can be sleeveless, or short sleeves or long sleeves and can be worn at any time of the year :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34