#minnowuprising | #needleworkmonday | Final Report (and other news ...)

This is the final report which looks at progress to build the wealth of 22 accounts posting under the #needleworkmonday tag as part of the July #minnowuprising campaign initiated by @taskmaster4450. This post set the baseline for reviewing progress.

#needleworkmonday

Progress in the second half of the month

Well, things slowed down a little. The underlying pattern is that the accounts that are regularly active (posting 3-5 times a week and consistently upvoting) are making steady progress, earning between 2 and 15 steem power every week.

needleworkmonday.jpg
Final numbers for 22 #needleworkmonday accounts for #minnowuprising campaign.

Active Accounts Continue to Earn

Posting

Posting two or three times a week is enough to keep earning SP.
If you're looking for ideas about how to improve your posts, here's the Ultimate Markdown Tutorial by @carrieallen, which includes how to find free images and free basic image editing options. There's also Pimp Your Post Thursday on discord - you can find out more in this post from @shadowspub.

Joining the #freewrite community is a great way to boost your writing ideas - just five minutes writing in response to a daily prompt. There's an extended version every weekend, a great community and lots of contests. Here's Sunday's post by @mariannewest with all the details.

Voting - Curation Rewards

Using all your votes (that's about ten a day if you have less than 500SP) is the One Thing You Can Do. This week's Curation and Engagement Leagues show that even accounts with very small amounts of SP can earn very well through careful voting.

This post by @revisesociology has lots of income earning ideas - including how to use your votes to full advantage. One of the things mentioned in the post is the increased curation rewards for votes on dapps like dtube, dlike and dlive - I've noticed this myself!

What have I learned?

This post from @mrscwin says it all: consistency, consistency, consistency and provides great ideas about how to go about it (this post is out of voting time now, but you can show your support for @mrscwin by voting for one of her posts that is less than seven days old).

I suppose, in some ways, my prejudices were confirmed over the month :) This little exercise has made me more discriminating and more careful where I put my attention. I guess the major reinforcement is to be clear about what I want from Steemit and to focus on that - though it is easy to get side-tracked sometimes!

Over the month, I earned 35 SP (or about one SP a day). I hadn't been keeping a record of what I had been earning in previous months, so I wasn't sure how this compared, but I was pleased with it :).The big lesson for me was how important curation is - at least a third of the SP I earned came from voting for other people. Consistency about voting (when, how often and who for) can be as important as posting.

What now, grasshopper?

Well, I have been slowly investing in Steem over the summer. I had been saving a little each month since early in the year and, yesterday, I decided to power up to dolphin level. I had planned to do this, but I thought it would take much longer. I have made a plan about how I want to use my investment, which you can read about in the post I wrote yesterday.

I've aimed for a balance of continuing to build my account, supporting community initiatives and managing all the other things we have to do in life. At the moment, my posts earn an average of about $1.50, so I have set my SP so that I have a daily voting budget of about $1.60 and the remainder I have delegated.

About 20% of those delegations are to broadly community initiatives including 250 SP to @needleworkmonday. Now, I haven't asked @crosheille about this in advance, so I hope she will forgive me - those SP were burning a hole in my pocket! I feel the #needleworkmonday community is really important and brings a lot of joy to the people who participate. It is one of the most supportive communities, with great interaction. I'd like to see it grow, and I'd like to see members rewarded for their commitment and support (and work)!

I have got a dilemma, though. I really like the ideas that @crosheille set out for the account in this post. However, you know I have a bee in my bonnet about Voting Power sitting at 100% and wasting valuable votes (it just brings me out in a rash, I get all itchy-scratchy). I'm just wondering what is going to happen to @needleworkmonday's Voting Power on days other than Mondays? (I know there will be some overspill into adjoining days to ensure that everyone who should gets a vote).

I do have an idea about how we could grow the account and use all the Voting Power and not create too much work for anyone, especially @crosheille:

#needleworkmonday remains as it always has plus the brilliant ideas that @crosheille has outlined for curating and resteeming; this is open to anyone who meets the #needleworkmonday posting guidelines.

In addition, people who meet quality posting guidelines for all their posts (not just ones tagged #needleworkmonday) could apply to become Approved Needleworkers (or another title). Approval would focus around things like good quality posts, good engagement, using their VP most of the time (sorry, can't help myself) and some thing like "fair use" eg not swamping everyone's feed with ten posts a day, as well as evidence of good #needleworkmonday posts.

Anyone who is approved transfers an enrolment fee of, say, 1 SBD to @needleworkmonday and in return receives a small upvote (say 35%) on all their posts, which is set up via steemauto.com, forever (or until circumstances dictate that the rules change). Only posts which meet the @needleworkmonday posting guidelines are eligibile for re-steeming or appearing in the curation post from that account.

I joined @runningproject which has a similar set up and seems to run very well. I'm sure if we had questions, @toofasteddie would help us with some ideas and answers.

This is just my suggestion - I welcome everyone else's ideas and thoughts - and, most importantly, I hope it doesn't create too much work (possibly, on the contrary) for @crosheille. I'd also be interested in any other ideas #needleworkmonday people have for building the @needleworkmonday account.

Knitting

Mm, the big news is a life change that I'm going to be making over the next year or so. This may involve moving home, if I can get the numbers to stack up, but whether I move or not, I will be getting a studio. I've seen a house that I would like to buy. It's in another part of the country, but with the same easy access to London (where I work), and near the sea.

I've just started to negotiate another five year contract where I will work part-time and, ideally, less and less time over the five years, as I move more into knitting and designing. The house also has a very ramshackle but potentially very lovely garden, which is my other great interest - it would be ideal for creating a food forest.

Meanwhile, my Big Wool jumper is ready for sewing up:

IMG_2098.JPG

My next adventures are going to be with this book, recommended by @neumannsalva:

IMG_2099.JPG
Amazon.co.uk Top Down Crochet Sweaters, Dora Ohrenstein

I might learn how to edit pictures for my posts as well :)

I'm still on holiday, back in September. Happy Needlework Monday!

Sort:  

First: Thank you so much for supporting @needleworkmonday with your delegation!!!! And naturally thank you for explaining your ideas how to grow this account and the initiative. I always learn new things from your post about steem, and still I do not understand it ok... sigh... So, your explanations are more than welcomed. I have already learned to constantly vote or delegate votes if I personally am not able to read/vote. But I have still no idea how to manage to write more then once per week… I am so slow in writing and commenting, that it eats up hours. #needleworkmonday reaches into Wednesday for me. I could imagine that an automated voting during the week you described for @needleworkmonday could be a great help, because curation will be much more time intensive than simply writing one’s own blog.
Perhaps someone must invent an app like @actifit (which I would love to use by the way… but sadly not for ios) which measures yarn/wool/fabric length which is sewn/knitted/crocheted/stitched over the day and then posts automatically on steemit :-DDD ( @muscara ? I think I remember that you liked to measure your yarn usage <3)
And about the life changes… This all sounds very great: garden, sea, studio, designing… wow. Do you perhaps need a personal assistant who strokes your yarn or admires your garden? I am very good in admiring :-DDDD (Did you already visit the house? And you are right, the plan makes much more sense, if the house is divided into two parts)
With the book… I hope you like it and I did not recommend something not useful for you.

I think posting once a week is perfectly fine and your account is growing nicely 😊 I find the same, that if we are contributing to the community by reading and commenting, it requires a lot of time. If we can automate some things and still ensure quality and support, that would be good. Honestly, I do not want to spend too much time online, I prefer knitting, running and gardening :)

Your idea for a yarn usage app is excellent, let's put it to the universe ... incidentally, I understand that one of the actifit priorities is an iOS version, so soon ... :) How are your shins, by the way? Maybe take it more slowly, shorter distances and good stretching?

You know the house - I sent you the details. I checked the bathroom, it has had a new roof in the past six months and that has solved the damp problem you noticed. My sister and I liked it, it is perfect for an artist, but there is a problem with the stairs. They are very stylish, but very steep, great if you are young or a mountain goat, but not if you are old and getting older and taken with carrying bags of yarn up and down. I am going again this Thursday with a carpenter to see if there are any options and what sort of costs are involved. (In my imagination, I have already moved in and have a studio and a workshop hehe; in reality, sense will prevail).

I am going back to my holiday now. Hope you have a lovely summer (the photographs of the coalmine were interesting. I visited an historic naval dockyard last week (a museum now), it was so vast. The ropemaking building was a quarter of a mile long!). Best wishes x

I dream of the day when my posts earn on average $1.50, @shanibeer 😂

It will come 😊

Heheh.. i like this:

Do you perhaps need a personal assistant who strokes your yarn or admires your garden? I am very good in admiring :-DDDD

Can I join you? :D I love to stroke yarns.

First let me say THANK YOU!!! I was on the verge of investigating who gave us the generous delegation...and behold it was you!! I am so happy to see and hear that there are many that want to see this needlework initiative grow and there are others willing to step up and help see that it progresses!

This is not “my” community. I started an initiative that grew into a beautiful and supportive community that belongs to everyone involved. I have continued with the leadership (as well as @crystalize) in order to maintain quality control, keep the fun alive and to make sure everyone gets supported. I knew that once I started a communal account and asked for delegations that continual curation was an important must! I have taken the account for a walk and have upvoted several posts that involves needlework and have invited those crafters to join us. I agree that curation cannot just be on Monday’s, especially if we want this account and community to grow.

With that said I believe we need someone that is willing, to start us a Discord group for further communication (I don’t have the extra time to set it up but I can help). I think we need two more admins onboard that will help keep up with the account, votes, curation etc. to keep everything running smoothly. @crystalize is very occupied with her work schedule right now and I homeschool five children while keeping a home while my husband works. I don’t want my limitations to hold back the growth of this community. Once we get a Discord set up I think we should allow the people of the #needleworkmonday community to vote on those individuals interested in being an admin. I personally would love for you @shanibeer to be involved more with this because you have been around for awhile and have gathered some very good info on voting and VP and your passion for wanting to see growth and more rewards speaks for itself :)

Thank you for sharing your ideas and for caring for my opinion on this. It means a lot that you show your appreciation towards my work for this community and give me recognition for the ideas I have brung forth! Congratulations on becoming a Dolphin, that’s soooo exciting!! ❤️

I was happy to read this before I went to sleep last night :)

I was wondering how to let you know about the delegation - what would be the best way - but I thought you would see it in #needleworkmonday's wallet or through steemworld.org. I knew that one way or another you would discover the source.

I understand what you are saying about the community. However, I believe that people have enormous respect for the way you have set and maintained the tone and the culture of the community - the quality of posting and the quality of interaction. People recognise and appreciate that and the friendly space it creates. I'm glad you've had support from @crystalize (I believe a message from her is how I found out about the community).

The Discord group sounds like a good idea, I have ventured onto Discord two or three times, although I know very little about it and things like admins. I think your idea about how to involve everyone in decisions is great. I suspect that the #needleworkmonday community might be made up entirely of very busy people - it might be the nature of the people who post here!

I came on yesterday because the end of the #minnowuprising report was outstanding and I'd made the decision to power up, but I'm going back to my holiday now. I know that you have a break planned as well. Shall we pick this up again in September? (But please don't let me hold you back if you have other ideas - I'll catch up when I am back).

I am excited about becoming a dolphin :) I enjoyed reading @arcange's report yesterday, where I was one of seven new dolphins. Minnows seem to be growing, too. All good news for steem.

Here's to an exciting future!

Oh yes! When I looked at the account wallet I did a quick double take lol! 😂 I said to myself “yay someone supported us”! Haaa it was a delight!! I am so thrilled and excited for us! Thank you again for investing in this community, it means a great deal!

That brings joy to my heart to hear, it’s so humbling. The way everyone has listened and acted on my suggestions and advice for keeping the quality and support of this community rich, has really shown me the character of this community. I have watched the quality of posts improve, interaction and support improve and it is just so refreshing to witness. I believe the #needleworkmonday community has gotten more attention (especially from @curie) because of the quality of our posts and us taking the time to share the process of our work. This is part of the reason why I am so strict (and watchful) on not allowing people to get away with misusing the tag or using it irrelevantly or using it for a post full of plagiarism or copy and paste. We work too hard on our original work for it to be confused with spam nonsense.

Yes I do agree. I think being extremely busy is a common thing with everyone. We can work out some details when you are back from your holiday. I too was thinking September will be a good time to do so.

That’s so awesome!! I look forward to the day when I become a dolphin as well. It was very inspiring to hear how you have been saving up slowly. I hope to be able to invest more in Steem down the line, right now we are tied up and have no extra income for that but hopefully soon that will change.

I look forward to hearing more about your moving adventures and seeing what you will be crocheting with your new Top Down book once you get back! Anyhoo enjoy your holiday, we’ll catch up when you get back ;) I have to plan my little break too.

Exciting future indeed! 🎉

Yay to @crosheille and @crystalize and @shanibeer!! So much fun and love and excitement for #needleworkmonday!!
Hey @crosheille, do you know what needs to be done here:

With that said I believe we need someone that is willing, to start us a Discord group for further communication (I don’t have the extra time to set it up but I can help). I think we need two more admins onboard that will help keep up with the account, votes, curation etc. to keep everything running smoothly.

If there is some sort of guide or something on what are the roles / activities / work that needs to be done, I'm sure the community can help in whatever way they can. I personally would like to volunteer to do something (not sure what I can help with yet but I volunteer :)

Sorry for my delay coming to this @marblely ... I've been knitting in the garden! Good to have volunteers and share the work. I think there are more ideas to be shared and more discussion to be done. I'm personally keen to see a plan to grow @needleworkmonday to 500 SP.

Yes I think it will be great to have volunteers and share the work. The more the account is active the better it will grow. I think that’s a good plan @shanibeer! 😍😁

Hey @marblely!! I think that would be great! I appreciate you volunteering. What I’ll do is lay out/write up some of the things that needs to be done to maintain the account and keep the community thriving. I could make a post about it and ask for more ideas from the others and see what they may have in mind that could help too. I am sure too that the community will want to help. I think this will be a good step for keeping things running smoothly as we grow ;)

😎😍👍

First to the craft part: Hurray to your finishing the cardigan :) And the book looks interesting. But I have one unfinished sweater and already yarn for the next two so perhaps crocheting a sweater comes next year?


To your proposal: That seems to be a good solution. Some work in the beginning for the admin, but after that only minor work would be needed. And I support a quality control. That would make people think about if and what to post. In my first weeks I often posted stuff just to post something - exactly what I don't want to have in my feed ;)

And delegations are a good idea to make this community more powerful. I'm only micro-plancton so not much to delegate right now but when my planned investment (~50 €) in Steem comes through I would love to delegate some SP.

I want this community to grow and thrive. Let's show all these gamers and meme-posters and crypto-gurus that needlework is not something boring that old grannies do!


Regarding your statistics: I don't know whether I'm in it, my first needleworkmonday-post was 7 weeks ago. Part of my growth came throught the byteball airdrop so that would fudge the numbers.


Have a nice holiday!

Thank you 😊, I can recommend the Big Wool jumper as it knits really quickly. I'm looking forward to the top-down technique as you can adjust the fit of the garment as you make it. I have been so frustrated with spending hours (months) making something and then it doesn't fit!

Re: the 22 accounts - yes, you were one of them (I took the 22 accounts who had posted on a particular Monday and followed their progress). It didn't matter about the byteball airdrop as that was another good way to grow your account. I did have to make one adjustment, as one account powered down during the period, but I found a way round that.

Re my proposal - I think it is important to keep both options: the "open house" on Mondays for anyone who wants to post and be part of the community and then a development stage for anyone would like to be approved. It would be good, perhaps, if more of us could help with the admin., although I am not sure what would be involved.

I know of a curated bot where the curators change every few days to keep the voting impartial. Perhaps something like that might be a way.

Yes, that is an idea. We must be guided by @crosheille and what she would like to do, there's a lot of love in this community :)

I love the texture, color and shape of your brown cardigan, @shanibeer! It looks like a crop style, which can be very hard to find these days. Well done! Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you, my dear!

Thank you. It very cosy, I'm looking forward to wearing it in the colder months. It's quite bulky and it's been amusing lugging it around this past week or two (it's knitted in one piece)!
How are your creations going? Did you have any luck with different outlets?

Outlets! Ahh @shanibeer you made a lamp joke! Ha ha haaa! Yes, Etsy is working well for me!

haha! I didn't know! Ah, pleased to hear about Etsy :)

be sure to make a photo of the finished project. very interesting how it will look :) for the rest: I realized very little - my English is very weak for understanding such things :)

I will make a photo of the finished project, but I am not as good at modelling as you :)
The rest is about how we could grow #needleworkmonday and build rewards for everyone :)

Thanks for the mention @shanibeer .
All the best in your @needleworkmonday .

aaaargh, when did you upvote yourself so that you appear at the top of this discussion about the development of the #needleworkmonday community? I love you and admire everything that you have done for @runningproject, but please, could you upvote @crosheille, @neumannsalva and @muscara so their comments appear above yours? thank you :)

If that is your will...
Have a nice day

Thanks for dropping a link to the Curation and Engagement Leagues!

My pleasure - they're a good tool, especially when you are starting out and want check how you are doing. I was really pleased to appear in the lower ranks of the engagement leagues when I first joined (I'm quite happy to sit there - as you say, I'm in the top 20% 😎), and even more thrilled when I appeared in the curation leagues. Again, I was in the lower reaches, but it gave me a clue about my curating decisions.

Is there a way for the NWM accout to set up an auto vote for any NWM tagged posts, staggering them throughout the week so that everyone can get a 100% vote? There are usually enough posts that it would keep most of the VP busy throughout the week, non? I know I don't participate every week because I don't always have crafting spoons, but the tag is generally pretty full, and if it gets voted on day one or day three or day five isn't going to hurt the poster. But I don't know how auto voting works, so I don't know if that's even possible.
PS - LOVE your cardigan! <3

I haven't investigated fully yet, but I don't think autovoters are that sophisticated yet. You're either voting for an account (rather than a tag) or you're not, although you can set the number of posts per day you'll vote for, alongside the percentage and voting time of the vote.
Personally, I'm looking for a balance for automating what we can, growing the account and using targeted personal (or manual) curation more for comments than votes; @steemcommunity is supporting the @needleworkmonday account now, too, so that's great 😁.
I'm pleased with the cardigan. It's very snuggly. The wool is discontinued now so was very inexpensive in the sales. I can't imagine how (ordinary) people afford to knit with full price wool!

Thank you @shanibeer for sharing this while still in your holiday :)

And it is so cool of you to delegate so much SP to #needleworkmonday! It is because of kind Steemians like yourself that we continue to grow :).

I am learning to post everyday but more from joining contests :D. It is both challenging (because of the timeline), fun (because I am reliving my childhood) and educational in many difference sense. My posts don't make much at the moment but it is exciting to see a little bit of earnings coming in everyday. Like @cryptocariad, I too dream of the day my posts earn on average $1.50. Haha. I am still trying to figure this part out:

Consistency about voting (when, how often and who for) can be as important as posting.

Am not earning much in that department. Thanks for sharing the links. Will go read them :)

And I am excited to hear about your big moves! I hope you find a place and a part-time job that you like too. I like the idea of the house being near the sea :)

The Big Wool jumper is looking good :) And you know what, the book @neumannsalva suggested was the exact same book I was looking at in amazon! What are the odds!? Hi-five @neumannsalva! Hehe. Now I am trying to remember did I eventually buy it? Hmm.

Rest well, relax and have a happy holiday @shanibeer!

You sound like you are having lots of fun and that is the main thing! It is exciting as well - I enjoyed seeing those little votes and earnings come in. The curation rewards take time, but it's worth developing good practices - I think you had a very systematic approach with a spreadsheet? I was never that organised 😂.

Thank you so much for the shout out!! so much appreciated. And big congrats on making it to Dolphin!! Well done!!

Thank you @mariannewest and for the excellent #freewrite initiative!

Awe - thank you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28