My Legitimate #needleworkmonday post

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

Now for those who don't know, @shanibeer and her friends are all members of a fabulous community called #needleworkmonday , the subject matter is self-explanatory but regardless, it's a perfect example of what this blockchain should be achieving consistently; Nice people, niche communities, honest content.

It's also the tag I love to read and while-away a few minutes when my Steem faith needs a little boost and today, I am proud to say I can truly join in!

Sat eating Sunday lunch at my Mum's, I got 'the glare' as a tiddly drop of delicious onion gravy made a leap for freedom from its Yorkshire Pudding prison as both came ever more perilously close to my cavernous mush. It landed on the table cloth of which, until that point, I hadn't taken much notice of.

"That's a clean cloth."

The cloth in question looked vaguely familiar but home-made and old, despite the embroidered flowers being bright and fresh. The cloth was stiffly starched and the creases suggested it may have lain folded for some time.

IMG_20190113_174047.jpg

Spot the gravy lol ;-)

It turns out my Nana made it when her and my Grandad moved into their very own farm back in 1937, they had had to sell everything they owned by auction to meet the asking price and so upon getting the keys had to start making everything they needed. I always remember my Nan telling me that their horses had more clothes than she did!

It was the 'Sunday best' cloth and I guess my vague recollection came from Sunday teas at my Grandparents as a kid and its life spent in a darkened drawer meant it had kept its colour.

IMG_20190113_174113.jpg

Bessie died in 2012 aged 98 but why Mum had got it out on this particular Sunday is, and I suppose will remain a mystery, but bringing out an 82-year-old family heirloom with me troughing my favourite Yorkshire Puds and onion gravy wasn't the brightest move Mum.

IMG_20190113_174058.jpg

It's not the best thing or most skilful creation, but I liked the story which is why I shared it.

Don't forget to read my post next week entitled 'Old Tablecloth vs New Washing Machine - The Results'!

Best wishes to everyone at #needleworkmonday and all the niche communities which are the only things holding up this blockchain at the moment, hope you go from strength to strength.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for the kind encouraging words, and the admiration you shared towards #needleworkmonday! I never would have thought it would turn into such an amazing, supportive and inspiring community as it has. To be honest the @needleworkmonday community gives me the biggest reason to be here and to keep putting time and work into this initiative because of the people involved with it. They are unmatchable! We have become a little family :)

Thank you for sharing some of your family’s history with us. That tablecloth will remain a sentimental piece in your family years to come! I love when you said your grandparents had to start making things they need. That is one of the reasons I started crocheting, was to provide my family with hats, scarves and other wants and necessities. We haven’t purchased store bought winter accessories every since I start crocheting.

Thanks again for sharing with us today :)

Ha ha! This was a great story, both your Nana making this tablecloth and you getting gravy all over it so very many years later. I think every family had a table cloth like that - I have a similar memory of Sunday dinners and an embroidered cloth. My mum may have made it as part of her bottom drawer before she got married. It's lovely that it's lasted so long. Thank you for joining #needleworkmonday :)

Of course, I'd forgotten about 'bottom drawers'! The other thing that's nice is that all my dead family are providing me with a small income thanks to their demise lol. Sorting more stuff out for my Mum on this trip and found all my Dad's Dad's old tools as he was a skilled carpenter, and so I kind of accidentally inherited a load of old stuff which is also odd for me as someone whose total possessions in life would all fit into one suitcase! I don't like 'stuff' but feel a bit obliged for now. I'm not big on history but it is sometimes nice to let your mind wander back and just imagine the old days.

I am actually looking forward to seeing the result of that 'table cloth vs new washing machine' contest, @nathen007. Incidentally, my washing machine has a setting to avoid too much ironing - I find things shrink less now too.

I can, I know I can, but I've never had the patience to embroider so much and to follow a pattern - I normally adapt and cut corners to suit my time and ability :D

I just love the story of this beautiful tablecloth (and I really hope it didn't die in that washing machine...)
I totally understand how an 'imperfectly' made thing, can look and feel so right and perfect, for me it's often the emotional value :D no other tablecloth in the world can replace the one your Nan embroidered 82 years ago!
Looking forward to that 'washing machine' post.. and I really hope it has a happy ending :DDD

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @nathen007!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.201 which ranks you at #2933 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2934).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 274 contributions, your post is ranked at #75.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11