Needlework Monday: Deschain Tee

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

D10C1D35-0A0A-4459-BB5A-1A863C6C7664.jpeg
(Warning: there’s gonna be a lot of photos)

About a week ago I received some yarn and a pattern provided by Wool and Honey, a yarn store located in Michigan. They had put out a call for sample-knitters on Instagram and I sent in my application.

Basically I got free yarn and I’m getting paid to knit (!!!!!).

E0A59888-4F34-4595-9830-7C7EF40A02C1.jpeg
The yarn and the pattern are from Quince & Co. I’ve used some of their yarn before but not Kestrel, which is a linen yarn. (They name their yarns after birds and it’s great.)
It’s definitely not as soft compared to, say, a wool/mixed yarn, so it was interesting to work with.

B51E97CA-9742-4C39-90D4-8CD672C55222.jpeg
It took me roughly a week to finish it.
At the beginning I got a bit stuck on the second repeat of a lace pattern (does anyone else not read the pattern closely enough? I missed a yarn over... it’s all good now though..).

980D357A-467F-4CB5-81F1-F65A5B55AE01.jpeg
Seaming was.. interesting. I had never seamed a shoulder or used mattress stitch, so that was definitely a learning experience.

F45AA41B-EF60-49AC-9E6D-D075AEC2AFAA.jpeg
For the front and back panels I had to steam block the two pieces before seaming. This was also new for me, but went pretty well.
I laid one piece on a towel and went over the top of it (without touching it) with an iron, pressing the steam button as I went.

D34D2176-F714-4235-9CB7-118FD89C5DBD.jpeg
Blocking linen makes it so much more drape-y! Which is good, because it was not looking great before I blocked the whole piece.

3213387F-C706-4A20-97ED-191F9BD4B398.jpeg
I sent the top, along with extra yarn and the printed pattern + my notes, back to Wool and Honey. They should be getting it on Tuesday and hopefully I’ll be getting paid then!

79D91066-F8F9-40BB-803B-76FBD9E6FD10.jpeg
I reallllly enjoyed this experience. It’s so fun getting to do something I love and make some extra money too.
Also, believe it or not, I don’t wear the stuff I make all that often.. So sending the finished piece back makes me feel like it doesn’t go to waste.

3D474193-0466-41D2-BDE4-19F7023AB67E.jpeg
Btw, my good friend Adelynn took these pictures for me! Her steemit is @maggiegrace

967C4D83-859B-4FE6-AA3E-B0362DD42583.jpeg

Thanks for following along and a happy Needlework Monday (or Sunday night for me) to you! ❤️

Sort:  

Okay someone needs to hire you to model for their knitting magazine!!! You are the cutest and are so photogenic!! 😍

I am always impressed with your knitting skills, that top is Beautiful!!!

Okay so recap: You sent in an application to try out some yarn and a pattern. They pay you to make it and send it back. Do they then use your finished item as display? Okay sign me up for a crochet job LOL (as if I’m not already doing enough)!!! Thanks for sharing this with us. If I ever get unbusy (not in this lifetime) I will try to find a crochet opportunity like this! 😉

Aww thank you so much!! Yep that’s basically it! I’m not completely sure what they’re gonna do with the finished product LOL

No problem! Lol oh okay...now I’m curious 🤔

You are really talented, cute and pretty and your knitting is amazing!! It is really nice to know there are companies who pay people to sample knit and you get free yarn, pattern and more importantly you get to indulge in your hobby and then get paid! What a nice trade 😁! Thanks for sharing your lovely story and pics! 🌼

Thank you so much! It was a great opportunity! ❤️

The top looks great! Linen always kinda looks funky until it is shaped a bit. Nice that you will get paid for the project!

Thank you! And I agree lol

Girl, your skills are amazing! That is an amazing looking top - you did such a great job! I really love your work. Pretty cool that you're getting paid to do some knitting!! It would be hard for me to mail it in after working on it for so long!! :)

Thank you so much!! ❤️

Oh @Lizgore, your sweater turned out absolutely amazing. You are so talented. And your pictures are really beautiful! Well done!!! Happy #NeedlworkMonday to you!

Thank you!! ❤️❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27