You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Needlework Monday - Tag Usage on Steemit - Being a Supportive Community

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

Hi :) I have a question. I am new to steemit, and am having some trouble locating a community that share my passion: upholstery. Although this involves staples and tacking, it also entails a fair bit of sewing - all depending on the piece being upholstered. Would it be frowned upon if I use the needleworkmonday tag for upholstery work? I totally agree with you on the choosing a tag that describes your post. But at the same time, I think one should choose tags if you believe your post would be of interest or of use for a specific group of steemers, even though not directly related to the tag. Take my interest for example. If I only chose the upholstery tag, I probably wouldn't reach many people. But I strongly believe that among the crafty, needle-proficient people using the needleworkmonday tag, some would possibly be very interested in learning new ways of using their needles or learning new crafting skills. And some are not. But it's all about locating the audience that could be interested. :)
-@lil-mich

Sort:  

Hello @lil-mich! Thank you for your question and checking to see if upholstery would be considered appropriate for the tag. I have just added upholstery to this post with the list of acceptable crafts. I’m not sure if you noticed the picture of the office chair above. It was upholstered with jean fabric by @oceanmoon. She too does upholstery and I was excited when she shared her post. Maybe you could connect with her. Upholstery does involve needlework so it too is welcome. 😊

I definitely understand about wanting to connect with people of like interests but if everyone starts using tags that aren’t directly related to their posts or that don’t fit that tags description it would start to get confusing on what that tag was really meant for. Eventually there will be no point of using tags if people just start using them indirectly. I love that there are specific tags for specific topics so you can easily find people of like interests.

Anyhoo, I would love to have you join in on Monday’s to share your upholstery work. I love all of the different types of needlework that are joining in now. I know others could learn from what you do. Thanks again for your question and comments and I hope to see you soon for #NeedleWorkMonday! 😊

Thanks for your reply - I see what you mean on it becoming a little confusing if muddled up too much. I’ll definitely be checking in for #NeedleWorkMonday 😄

You’re absolutely welcome! I’m looking forward to seeing you on Monday’s!!! 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98