Weaving, Looms and Yarn

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

At one point in my life, I wanted to learn how to weave rugs. After I took a trip to Cairo, Egypt and I saw some beautifully handcrafted rugs, I decided I wanted to make a rug. Well, weaving is not an easy task. I was able to pick up a secondhand loom and some yarn from a school auction sale. I also purchased a book to help me figure out the process.

image

At first, it was fine. I soon realized that the small school loom was not going to be sufficient for what I wanted. I started trying to find a floor model loom, but I did not have the space for it in my home.

So, I’ve put away this particular interest but I kept it in case I wanted to come back to it another day. As I was looking at the yarn that I bought for weaving, I wondered if there was another use for it in either knitting or crocheting.

image

image

Some of the thread is made out of cotton, and some out of some type of acrylic, and some I believe to be 100% wool.

image

image

I hope that some of the ladies within the needlework community will have some ideas or solutions for my dilemma. I’m all ears.

image

Sort:  

Weaving. So far I convinced myself that I had no money for it and it was not "practical" enough. Thus my decision to buy a sewing machine - of course only for shortening trousers and new zippers, not for frivolous fun stuff. Technically, I've got no time for taking up sewing, either, or place for all the fabrics I will "need" etc. - but alas, I'm only human ;)

But there is something in my bookmarks for at least two years: a nice weaving loom, in sizes up to 32 of your strange inches, that you can fold with the work on it! No big loom sitting around gathering dust - isn't that a great idea? Since I don't want to tempt you I will of course give you no link to it... oops ;)

I really like the loom that you shared in the accidental link. 😊 It can be a table top loom or it can be placed on a stand. I will have to see it I can find a used one in good condition now. Thanks for the information.

uhh I also had a short weaving episode :-D But I tried to weave on a handmade cardboard loom. Oh horror.... The episode was very fast over.
I think you can use the softer yarns for every project you like. The only difference between yarns I know is, that rug-yarns have a different (stronger) twist. This leads to a rougher and more durable fabric. It is possible to use this rug yarn for knitting or crochet, but it will feel a bit coarse.

I thought about the texture as well. I guess as long as I use it for something like foot wear or household items, then I should be good. Thanks for sharing.

I don't have any suggestions. Really think it would be great to know how to weave. I have watched the Indians do it .. I beleve they were Navajo. A long time ago.

FYI: this is the alt account for @rebeccabe

I just saw a beautiful woven rug made in New Mexico while I was in Winter Park, CO. It was hanging on the wall in the condo as decoration. It would take me a while to do a rug with an intricate design.

That loom looks like a good size for placemats. Or make dish towels with the mercerized cotton.

That’s a great idea. They are both small and easily completed.

Wow, that weaver looks so cool and I just imagine it must be so healing and meditational!

It actually is a very calming activity once it’s threaded.

Looms... if I am lucky I will only inherit 2...
My Mom worked in a weaving store that sold items woven by disabled people. She was there for years and I got some nice placemats and table runners from the store as gifts. And a knitted poncho thing.
And she ended up with 3 looms when it closed. But has only ever managed to sell 1 of them. I think. I haven't checked the basement in a while.
You can knit rugs if you don't want to weave. :)

Be sure to check the basements or the lions. Weaving is another one of those lost arts, but it can really be fulfilling and useful.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jluvs2fly from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @jluvs2fly! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75