You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sewing a Japanese wrap-dress… and some complications

Your hair is cute, I bet it is easier to manage now!
I like the shorter dress version, it will look cute with tights! Long is nice for winter but only keep it long if you will actually wear it.

And your sleeve... I laughed when I got to that part, it seems so easy to sew and then stuff like that happens. And I would also have wanted to burn it.

Sort:  

Thaaaank youuuuu... that was the main reason I got it cut. The hair was to heavy when I pulled it up and it did not help my headaches. Much better now (although it is really short for me :-D)
And with the dress, I cut it yesterday. I like the shorter version much better, but i am still not completely happy with it. I ponder to insert back darts, to get a more defined waistline. I sadly guess, that most of these wonderful Japanese patterns are not made for my figure/size..
And with the burning – I had the most intense impulse while fumbling with the straps. Oh my ***** the inside out sleeve was harmless in comparison. Thankfully the fabric is easy to unpick. The dress has now two! sleeves with the right side out and all straps are attached :-DDDD

I look forward to seeing photos of the finished dress! It is lucky that you didn't follow through and burn it. :D
Not sure if darts would help, I don't know enough to figure out sewing alterations and you are WAY beyond my skill set. :)

Darts are my 'got to' solution to fit my bigger backside/sway back into dresses :-DDD If I don't do darts, dresses sit to low on my back and I have to cut a much bigger size to accomodate my behind :-D
https://www.sewmamasew.com/2010/06/the-mighty-dart-the-role-of-darts-in-your-fitted-clothing/
But with the burning, I could visualize a interesting video with me burning a dress :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87