Needleworkmonday 10-22-18 an antique and a hat

20181020_224308.jpg
My Grandmother and Great Aunts and Great-Great Aunts were very into re-using old fabric in pretty ways. And as insulation when their houses needed some... I just received several boxes of old clothes and photos and stuff from my Grandmother's collection of heirlooms. This stool stands out as a well loved piece of art.

20181020_224219.jpg
All you need is some wood, some horns, and some old clothes to pad the wood with, and some old clothes to make a piecework top. I love how they used different stitches all around the pieces to put it together.

20181021_231153.jpg
While in Medford, OR I picked up this pretty red and gray yarn, just HAD to make a hat with it. I am really happy with how the striping worked out. It is a merino mix of some kind and very soft. I have half a ball left, may have to see how much of a second hat it will make!

20181020_224324.jpg
Harley has been enjoying the felted catnip pouch @lordvdr created as well as a few other handmade toys lately.

20181021_120020.jpg
And Kimba wanted to say Hello and tell everyone that he has been eating the Garlic Chives again. He is ready for his close-up...

I was thinking that my crazy season was winding down but tonight I am driving to Bozeman, MT to help out a location there. Lets hope I can get into my favorite yarn store there... @lordvdr needs more stuff to felt!

And one more photo- our Larch was glowing gold this morning!
20181022_110106.jpg
Happy Fall!

Sort:  

She's not wrong, more stuff to felt would be fun.

Amazing stool ! Very unique and wonderfully bursting with character :)

The hat is coming together nicely also, and I love that beautiful photo of an autumn tree at the end <3 Gorgeous~

Wow, that stool is amazing! I love the kitty photos of course. Beautiful beings! <3
Holy cow, you worked fast on that hat! It turned out great!

Between a road trip and being sick for 4 days, the hat definitely came together fast. Thanks!

That antique crazy quilt is super inspiring to me especially right now, since i am trying to make one myself for the first time. I love the hat you made, it looks super cozy. A wonderful post.

I will have to post photos of the book cover that was done in a similar fashion, you will like it too! Thank you!

So exciting! Blessings

I really love that embroidered (crazy patchwork?) stool, @jamethiel.
Lovely photos of the landscape and cats too :D

Thank you! It is a beautiful piece!

wow !!!!! What a stunningly beautiful tree !!!! you have a wonderful autumn !!!! your cats are very cute :))) I'm amazed at the chair that you showed us. I have not seen anything like it !!!!

Thank you! The tree is a Larch, a pine tree that turns yellow and drops its needles every year. And the chair is definitely unique!

Love that stool! Amazing and with such personal history for you! Great job on the hat as well!

Wow that horn stool! Remarkable stitches too, like vines and mushrooms ?, never seen anything like that!

There is a book of decorative needlework stitches that seems to have been passed around the family. They would stitch up a few pieces as a sampler of their favorites and then pass on the book. I've seen similar books of decorative stitches every now amd then, there are a ton of neat ways to embellish quilts with them.

Wow, envy you, I must say you are so fortunate to have it, priceless inheritance!!

The stool is interesting - though it would be impossible to get these horns here in Germany ;)

And I love the hat, what a lovely yarn. Great colors and you can nearly see how soft it is.

:) Now I will have to research and see what kind of horns they are. They may be cows, or they may be bison.
Thank you!

That stool is such a lovely art piece! I love the different stitching and colors of all the fabric together...those horns just top it off, wow!

You did a great job on your hat, it’s so neatly stitched and I love those colors.

You have some really pretty cats and I think it’s cool that they love the catnip @lordvdr made.

I love that golden Fall picture at the end. I’ve been wanting to get out to take some tree photos but haven’t had the chance. Thanks for sharing ~

So... the fabric... random scraps of unmentionables as well as other old clothing. My Grandmother used to laugh about how much the old ladies would recycle the pretty bits that weren't worn out. :)
Thank you!
This has been a beautiful fall and the trees are quite pretty this year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98