#Needleworkmonday : Finished crocheted charity squares and my purple hat #2


The photos above show you the process I followed when making a crochet granny square with a heart motif. Here’s the link where I found the diagram if you’re interested. It's a wonderful blog if you haven't seen it before.

I was really keen to learn how to make this variation to donate some different types of 6” squares for that local blanket project.

I guess I have to read more closely how people actually make these squares to try and avoid the floats on the wrong side as much as possible.

I will ask when I hand in the squares if that ‘wrong side is acceptable.

In the meantime if you have any tips on how to avoid them, please let me know as I’m always keen to improve my skills.

As I was saying the other day I often just buy one ball of changing colour yarn because you never know how the colour change will look.

I was therefore pleasantly surprised to see how the basic granny square below above turned out.

I started with the end of yarn that comes from inside the skein. Sometimes it’s quite easy to do that and you just pull that end that lets you work without worrying about the yarn moving all over the place or falling. Often Sometimes things go wrong and you end with two messy half skeins, just take a look below:

For the heart square and for the basic granny square I used a size 4mm crochet hook. I used remnants for the heart square and started a new skein of baby yarn (so it’s quite soft) and the best thing is that it’s machine washable :D

Below is the photo of my finished (second) crocheted hat.

I was pleased with the final result as I had to unravel it. I actually made a fortunate mistake (for rushing things as usual I guess) that resulted in a slightly crooked design. I quite liked how it looked so I had to capitalise on it to change the whole thing and in the process making it slightly bigger.

I am not going to bore you further with the process. You can have a look at my previous post on how I crocheted hat number 1.

As you can see the sections where the increases take place are divided by a straight ‘vertical’ line made of raised stitches (front post trebles).

You might be interested, however, in how I made the ‘spiral’ spokes of the hat #2 …

All I did was to make a half puff stitch to separate the sections and then I skipped two stitches initially by mistake :D and then at the end of the section just before the following half puff stitch I actually crocheted two stitches in the same gap. This kept the same number of stitches when an increase wasn't needed.

Incidentally, just in case you’re wondering… I made the ‘half puff stitch’ by doing a yarn over as if to make a front post treble (fpt), yarn over again to make another fpt; you should have 5 loops on your hook. Draw the yarn through 4 loops and finally draw the yarn through the final loops left on your hook. It looks like a raised stitch (fpt) only it’s half a puff stitch :D

I finished the hat with three rows of single crochet only making the stitches on the back loop of the stitch from the previous row.

@jen0revision kindly took a few snaps of me crocheting part of the edge of the hat.

I aimed to make a final row of crab stitch, but clearly I forgot how to so the last row may look a bit odd but I liked that crooked chain shape so I left :D



all work by @cryptocariad

A couple of other of my posts related to this post :

https://steemit.com/needleworkmonday/@cryptocariad/needleworkmonday-a-new-crocheted-hat

https://steemit.com/needlework/@cryptocariad/crocheted-squares-for-charity-blanket-and-an-autumn-walk



With thanks to @crosheille and the team for hosting us :D

Sort:  

Hello @cryptocariad, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hello, @creativecrypto, I appreciate your interest and support !

I love the heart granny square, it's lovely ♥♥
I'd like to try some day. Good job! 😄

Thank you, @joecita... I love seeing your crochet work - it looks very neat :D

Wow! Long post and so many things you made last week. And I am a special fan of the spiral hat. As I am sure I am not alone with this love: maybe you want to write the pattern down and put it on ravelry (for money or for free)?

The pastel blue yarn is amazing and it is great the colour change worked out so beautiful. It looks totally planned.

With the floats/yarn ends... no better idea on my side. But @crosheille has this a tutorial for glueing yarns in. Not sure if that would work with a granny square.
And the link you gave: wonderful. I did not know her and the page is so nice. I always love this bright and neat designs. I would so love to have a home like this internet page, but .... no... (I think this is the transission/ advertising to my current #needlework post 😅 😅 😅 )

Sorry about the length, @neumannsalva... got carried away there...

I have a lot of 'experience' with a glue gun ... :D

Nothing to be sorry about. In the contrary, I love to read from you <3 And with the glue gun... I am a glue-gun-virgin, so no idea what gruesome things can happen, but now I am a bit afraid 😅😅

Thank you, @neumannsalva... I'll try to be brief next time anyway as there's lots to read on Mondays :D
I had a job ages ago that involved glueing card centres using the hot glue gun to finish off competition rosettes which I had to sew around in circles... Needless to say I spoilt a few because of my usual 'speedy' outlook on life😅 ... I also burnt myself a few times...

I really like these hats, especially the raised rib effects and I was going try one this week (I'm still going to try it, I have the yarn I want to use). The spiral effect looks very interesting.
PS there is a treeplanter voting circle today if you want to join in :)

Thanks, @shanibeer... is it too late to take part in the treeplanter voting circle ? Sorry I've been away for a bit... :D
I'm happy to support the work of treeplanter :D

There's plenty of time - just post the url in the comments section and wait for further instructions 😊

Just posted it now, @shanibeer... Thanks... I'll await your instructions :D

cool collage with multiple shots of you crocheting :)

Thank you, @steven-patrick... I just used the snipping tool to 'cut and paste' some smaller versions of the photos from google docs... My level of technology / digital tools / know-how is minimum :D

Your second hat turned out even more beautiful than the first !!! I really like how the diagonal stitch looks. The squares with the heart are also very beautiful. I have never crocheted like and do not know how to improve the seamy side

Thank you, @tali72... As I say above I'm always keen to improve on my skills ... there must a tutorial out there somewhere on how to avoid the wrong side yarn showing so much... I'll keep looking :D

now I will know that before trying to knit grandma squares I need to look for this material

You had a productive week. Hat is beautiful.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, @fiberfrau... it's all small little projects though :D

Great post, long with lots of interesting things! The crocheted hearts are cool and I hope you can figure out that floats thing. But they still look cool even with them.
The second square's design worked out perfectly for the yarn you choose.
And I love how the spiral hat turned out! The colors striped nicely throughout. Good stitch tutorial as well!

Thank you, @jamethiel... I love making things and if they have a practical purpose all the better...


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Oh, thank you for the interest and support, @c-squared !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86