#Needlework : Using snap fasteners instead of buttons to close a shirt opening ...

in #needlework5 years ago

Below is a photo of the front of a shirt that my youngest, @jen0revision, needs to wear tomorrow. She asked me to put a button on the front placket there because it is too deep and opens.

I was actually a bit reluctant to put a button there because that entails making a buttonhole and as I didn’t have enough time, I came up with a cunning plan :

An advantage of using snap fasteners (or ‘poppers’) is that (a) the fixing needs no sewing machine at all, and (b) the fixing can be temporary; so they can be unpicked returning the shirt to its original (revealing) state.

It only took a few minutes to quickly stitch through the holes of the fasteners. I was very careful that my stitching didn’t come through the front so it is really ‘invisible’ at first glance.

You can’t see it because it just doesn’t show…

You'd have to look really closely to see it. In fact, @jen0revision was shocked surprised when she saw it and thought I hadn’t actually done anything to it… Sometimes, I even surprise myself :D



work by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

There even are snaps in clear plastic - if you sew them on with a thread that's similar to the fabric it's nearly invisible.

btw: Cute shirt ;)

oh, yes, I've seen those and they would be 'lighter', @muscara, but I didn't have any at the time. The fabric is nice - I'd hazard a guess it's viscose because it's a bit floppy :D
The shirt actually belonged to @tinygalaxy but she passed it on - nice sister :D

I like to do buttons and loops sometimes instead of buttonholes. When I worked in a bridal shop I learned to make thread loops for buttons or belt loops really fast. A single loop and pearl button is a quick decorative closure. Great job on your invisible solution! My Granny taught me that my stitches should never show unless I wanted them to, so I learned to pick up a single thread at a time when needed.

My mum was keen on making thread loops as well, @fiberfrau, so I learnt watching her :D
I like your grandmother's teaching to you as well .
Your job in the bridal sounds really interesting (and possibly stressful).

The sewing was not stressful, but some of the brides were just awful. I actually have a book outlined about my experiences in the bridal industry.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love snap buttons @cryptocariad and I do use them for the same reasons. I also use them in between buttons that are too far apart sometimes where the space in between opens especially when you sit down.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I know exactly what you mean, @marblely... That's why it's normally sweatshirts, t-shirts and zippers for me...which also means no ironing (win win) :D

Oo yes no ironing is an important criteria for me now. I too am wearing mostly tshirts and blouses that do not require ironing :D

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very nice. Your kids are lucky to have you :)

Thank, @steven-patrick... I feel fortunate to have them :D

So clever! Even more as it worked out :-D Some month ago a good friend purchased a kam snap (a pincer like tool) We rejoiced: no more sewing buttons or snaps on... yeah, so much fun (ironyyyyy) this thing was rubbish and we killed a complete skirt, as these plastic snaps altered their shape and did not close at all.
So, hurray to you for not being as lazy as we were and sewing it on :-DDD

Thanks, @neumannsalva... I must avoid that 'great sounding gadget'... Ages ago I bought a hand-held sewing machine that looked like a stapler. In theory it was absolutely great, but alas, it didn't work at all - luckily I didn't try on anything major so I didn't spoil anything.
Did you manage to get the snaps off at all ?

Yes, by cutting off the waistband 😂😂😂 It’s the blue skirt I wear in last Monday’s post. I made a complete new waistband

Nobody would know the hidden story behind that skirt... and I'm so glad you managed to save it, @neumannsalva ! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23