Purple Coneflowers

in #nature6 years ago (edited)


PurCone2.jpg

PurCone1.jpg


PurCone3.jpg


PurCone4.jpg


Purple Coneflowers are great nectar flower for both butterflies and bees!
They grow about 3 feet tall.
These are currently in bloom at The Heard Museum and Wildlife Sanctuary in McKinney, Texas.


Years ago I had some of these growing in my yard.
I started them from seeds from my mother-in-law, who had lots of wonderful flowers growing in her yard.


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


June 18, 2018
All original photos taken by me on my iPhone 8Plus

Sort:  

Not only are the purple cone flowers beautiful and the bees and butterflies love them but they are also medicinal. the purple coneflower - Echinacea angustifolia and E. purpurea. E. angustifolia is well know for it's antibiotic qualities and is also an immune-stimulant. I usually keep a tincture around (made from the root) for when I feel a cold coming on.

That's great! Thanks for the information!

You're welcome!

Thank you for sharing @violetmed. You have included such a wide variety of species in your posts that this blog can also be useful for people outside Steemit inquiring of flowers and butterflies.

How was your day of volunteering? Reading this I could see that in a way gardens are forever and continue to give. I am really busy this time of year. Although school vacation starts in the end of July I teach a week or two of summer school before my vacation. I am preparing the camp materials now. My family will sing two songs for my brother's wedding. They are not really "wedding songs" but songs that my wife and kids picked out:

  1. He's got the whole world in his hands
  2. Without love we have nothing

It's was hot the day I was trained in the butterfly house, but I'm about to go tomorrow morning for a couple of hours and it's supposed to be cloudy with a chance of rain. Sounds good to me, I'll just bring an umbrella! Well, hopefully everything will go smoothly for you with the summer school! I'm familiar with song #1 but not song #2. Oh, also I was very surprised to have a little boy in our Pre-K class last week whose name is Gyeongryul. I asked his mother where they were from and she said South Korea! She said to just call him "Yon". Thank goodness! :) He was a sweet little boy.

Awesome... what a lovely story. That is totally a Korean name. It's hard to pronounce the last syllable "ryul". When we try we begin to empathize with students who have a hard to pronounce English words.

Song number two is a Christian song based on 1 Corinthians 13. It is more popular in Korea. My wife chose it.

If our version works out I will share the audio on Steemit.

Love these! So I guess my prediction was correct; that we will be seeing a general UPGRADE in the quantity and quality of interesting information and images in your posts, since you are now "certified". Keep it up. You've got my CONTINUOUS upvote...Also, how about applying some of those nice filters to these images, as a way of adding EVEN MORE aethetic JUICE to these posts?

Yes I’m hoping to get some great shots of flowers and butterflies when U volunteer as the docent! Good idea on the filters.

Hello, @violetmed, the flowers are beautiful in an atmosphere of harmony. Flowers, butterflies and bees. Congratulations.

incredible style of this plant

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 1.05$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

They are very unique flowers.

I lived in Texas for just 6 months, way back in 1976. Do not recall seeing these. Close to Tyler, TX.....saw a lot of roses.

Oh yes, did you ever visit The Tyler Rose Gardens? I think maybe Coneflowers mainly grow in North and Central Texas and perhaps near the coast of Texas. I grew up in El Paso, the desert of Texas, and we did not grow any there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77