Day Hike in Boen Gulf

in #nature6 years ago

Last weekend I went to a place called Boen Gulf in Arkansas. I'll refrain from telling you where it is as google exists and so do a bunch of websites with maps and the like.

Before we even got to the trail we were hit with a good sign. Arkansas' main elk herd was out for the viewing. Unfortunately all I have is an iphone camera so far away shots aren't so great. They can often be found munching grass in Boxley Valley.

IMG_1536.JPG

I had no idea where we were even going. My friend @wisdomtraders did the planning. Sometimes, I like it that way so I'll be more surprised with the sights. I figured there would be waterfalls, since it is getting to be that time of year and I was right. Here is the first one. It is apparently called Marble Falls. The Clear water was a theme of the day and quite serene.

IMG_1550.JPG

There was a larger waterfall but we never went down below, so I didn't get the best pictures. The gulf was almost straight down bluff ledges in some parts. We went to the top of one and found a great view!

IMG_1562.JPG

The above picture shows how there are mixed forests in the ozarks. Many of the deciduous trees were either budding or still dormant. There were also scattered pine groves and red cedar in the area. Some of the more breathtaking trees were the mighty Sycamores. Once we made it to the valley bottom, we found them. Here is one that was hollowed out and gives a decent view of the size of the trunk.

IMG_1653.JPG

There was some type of fungus rotting out the center. My favorite things about hikes are generally great views, water features, and flora and fauna. The best part of the day for me was seeing...SALAMANDERS!!!

IMG_1663.JPG

Can you see it? Honestly, I could have sat all day and looked for them but there were other people with me and I had to respect their time. Generally the most sure place to find Salamanders in the Ozarks, are in the abundant caves. This was the first stream I've found that they were common like crawdads. I understood why too. When lifting rocks there were insect larvae everywhere. I bet the Salamanders are feasting this time of year! On another note, here's a cool bug.

IMG_1645.JPG

The picture doesn't do it justice! This little guy was iridescent blue and very beautiful. I don't really know much about the different bugs around but, I would like to learn more.

IMG_1641.JPG

My best guess is that this mushroom is Favolus alveolaris, or the Hexagonal-pored Polypore. I am an amateur at identifying mushrooms but am actively trying to learn so if anyone has a correction let me know. My book says its edible but who knows? Someone that isn't me that's for sure...Never eat a mushroom without a 100% ID!

IMG_1596.JPG

Enjoy the small things in life. I mean literally where I am the most beautiful things seem to be tiny. Like this flower or that mushroom. I've been having trouble IDing this flower as it doesn't seem to be in the books I have. Does anyone know what it is?

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

love the different plant photos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86