Ladybug Larvae Hatching In The Gardens on Milkweed

in #nature7 years ago (edited)


Life Cycle of the Ladybug


These cute little creatures are adorable as an adult and are wonderful insect controllers. However, in mid-Spring they lay their eggs on the undersides of my potato plants. Not that I mind that at all, but they are ravenous little eaters and can consume a lot for such little larvae. They do feed on aphids and small insects found on the plants, but definitely like to eat the tender shoots of the potatoes.


Ladybug Larvae Feasting on Aphids


I found a lot of the larvae also on the patch of Milkweed that I let grow wild in the gardens for them and the Swallowtail butterflies. Actually, the Monarchs come to enjoy the nectar from the flowers as well.

Ladybugs typically stay in the larvae stage from three to four weeks, molting four times before they enter the pupa stage. This is when they curl up and attach themselves to the underside of the plant leaves. It takes a bit over a week before the transformation occurs and they emerge from the pupal skin.





Pupa Stage


After emerging from the pupa stage it takes a couple days for the wings to mature enough for them to take flight. The vigorous eating cycle will begin once again. The cute little ladybugs will devour an enormous amount of aphids, insect eggs and mealybugs before they begin the mating ritual. The cycle begins again and their little, oval shaped eggs are laid, once again.

Life Cyle




Milkweed Flower





Adult Ladybug Beetle



Thank you for stopping by my post, I hope you enjoyed learning a little bit about the ladybug beetles I have found hatching in my gardens.
Info Source
Life Cycle Image Source

Until next time, this is Sunscape...

Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Previous Posts @sunscape
My Website
My Etsy Store - Sunscapes Soaps & Soaks
My Etsy Store - Crystal Vibrations
My Tweets on Twitter

Sort:  

Fantastic post @sunscape : )

Thank you @speckofdust for liking the ladybugs.

Have a nice day my friend : )

Thanks for nice info. i was able to capture the larvae and ladybug stages. wish i can find the egg and the pupa stage seem interesting.

That is terrific, isn't it wonderful to be able to identify and see them going through the process.

I agree. i think it might have seen a pupa stage but not knowing it. Your infomation will help me find and shoot a pupa stage first. eggs will be harder i think :)

Great Post , I had no idea that they only lived 4-8 weeks

Hi @halo the cycle of the eggs to larvae to ladybug takes about 4-8 weeks. They actually can live to over a year old. Wintering under leaves to return in spring to start again.

@sunscape thanks for clearing that up for me , I must have miss underdstood. I love ladybugs they are so cute :)

You are very welcome, actually did not even think that the life cycle diagram may have been misinterpreted.

Sorry I thought a life cycle diagram was from birth to death. So are all life cycle diagrams from birth to adulthood?

You know that is an interesting question and I imagine it depends on what the subject would be of. I have to admit that chart could have been much clearer. Sorry for the confusion @halo

Oh wow! Thanks for a fantastic series of photos! We call them ladybirds in England. I dont know why....
"Ladybird, ladybird, fly away home,
Your house is on fire and your children are gone"
A curious little rhyme really... lol.

I love your ladybird rhyme it put a smile on my face. The larvae are adults now and I am so happy to have them about the gardens. Ladybirds flying everywhere.

Yes... I shall have to find the rest of that rhyme. I'm going back half a century mind! It was supposed to fly off of your finger when you reached the end

However it ends the rhyme was very cute @elaine54

Great post and amazing photos. I have learned something new today, Yay!
Very interesting. 😀

I am glad you learned something about the ladybugs. They are beginning to fly everywhere now.

Good to know what the larvae looks like so I know to leave it alone. Thanks for the post.

You are very welcome, they are interesting little creatures, but boy are they awesome for insect control.

you're making steemit a great community with your content sunscape! keep it up!

Thank you steemking77 for always encouraging us steemians. Enjoy your day

Nice story

Congratulations!

Thank you @rtdcs aren't they just the cutest little creatures?

Lovely story! Thank you :)

Thank you very much for stopping by to see the transformation through my photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27