Another BUG post?! Sure, why not?! Meet the Rhinoceros Beetle! ♥

in #nature6 years ago


Good morning!

What better way to spend your morning than by enjoying a hot cup of coffee, sitting down and relaxing with Steemit, and reading about cool bugs!?



You know you love it!


 

DSC00528.jpg

This, my friends, is a Rhinoceros Beetle, (Dynastinae).


They are related to scarab beetles. There are many different varieties of these cool-looking bugs, and to be honest, I'm not sure exactly which species of rhinoceros beetle this guy is. This is a beetle my kids found and held for a while. My kids have a knack for finding interesting bugs.


DSC00527.jpg

After doing some reading, I discovered that in Asia, people keep these guys for pets, since they are docile and harmless, (they cannot bite or sting!), and are pretty easy to care for. They even gamble on 'beetle fighting competitions', where they pit one male against another, with a female held captive nearby to encourage them to compete with each other for her.

These insects are nocturnal, feeding on plant sap, nectar and fruit. They hide from predators during the day under rotting logs or vegetation. Males live 2-3 years, but they say the females rarely live long after mating.


My daughter with a different rhinoceros beetle she found a few years ago. This one didn't have big horns, perhaps it was a female...
DSC02614.jpg


page-break-1024x256.png

Thanks for stopping by to check out this awesome monster beetle! We enjoyed him, as well as other rhinoceros beetles that we find from time to time.



I hope you enjoyed and that you have a lovely day! ♥



page-break-1024x256.png


Badge comp.png

Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

I noticed this close up on the whistle stop and had to comment. That's an awesome picture. Did he keep still for you to take it and do these things bite or anything?

We don't have them in my part of the world.

Thanks!
Yeah, they are pretty slow moving bugs, and it wasnt hard to get a good shot of him. :D
They do not bite or sting, so, as intimidating as they look, they really arent anything to be afraid of.
Thanks for stopping by!

Yes, cool looking bugs for sure, I would tend to agree that the males would have horns, males are usually referred to as being "horny" but then again, I don't know nothing about these bugs you have shown here.

So you liked that comment did you.

Twas humorous. ;)

Yeah, that qualifies as a cool bug. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Most of the really interesting bugs in my part of the world are strictly nocturnal. Course, some of them are poisonous so I really tend to let them be :)

Oh goodness! Yep, I would leave dangerous critters alone too!
There arent too many of those here though. Of course, the kids know better than to mess with anything they arent SURE is safe also, just in case. :D

Fun Fact: Rhinoceros Beetles are the strongest creatures on the planet being able to lift over 500 times it's body weight.

Cool!
Im not surprised! Insects really are amazing little things. :D

That is a cool looking bug! I have never seen one of those.

That is a cool bug! Think if we found anything that big in our yard I've got two that would be fascinated and one that would run screaming and never go outside again xD

Haha! Thanks!

Love the goatie, by the way! ♥

Wow, your kids do have a knack for finding cool bugs. We rarely find something so interesting, although we do have those massive grasshoppers, which are pretty neat.

Thanks!
We used to have big grasshoppers... then chickens happened. No more grasshopper here!

I've got chickens too, but still have the grasshoppers. This leads me to believe what I already suspected - I have a flock of lazy birds.

Hahahha! Yes, you must have. If you feed them less, they will hunt and forage more. ;)

Wonderful macro shots of the beetle!!

Oh gosh! I admit it looks cool but this would creep me out if I was up close to it. My kids in the other hand love creatures and they took would love to see something like this up close...YIKES! 😬

Haha I bet they would love it! I was one of those kids that loves creepy-crawlies, so they don't bother me. :D

I used to be interested in them more until I got stung by bees and wasps. It made my interest dwindle away and I became more terrified of creepies and crawlies lol! 😅

Haha, it would me too!

That is an awesome Bug! Great photography too :)

Aw, thanks! ♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22