Cool close up footage of a woodpecker at work.

in #nature6 years ago


I was surprised when I was walking in the yard just the other day, that I came so close to the wood pecker working on and old tree in the yard.

He was going to town trying to dig out some bugs and didn't seam to care much that I was close enough to probably reach out and touch it.

I was able to get close enough to get some shoots of his feet. My son recently watched an episode of Magic School bus and he's been intrigued by different birds feet. I learned that woodpeckers have two front facing toes and 2 rear facing toes instead of the 3 and 1 like other birds.


Source

Pretty cool eh? Hope you like my little nature showcase. Let me know if you like it and I can try to capture some more nature footage around the yard.

PS hope it counts for #treetuesday!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Wow, you're right. He really has no interest in you! haha. How lucky. Woodpeckers are cool. Never thought about the different styles of feet too much. Thanks for sharing that, certainly interesting.

Que bonito es el pajaro carpintero.
Muy buen trabajo !!
Gracias por compartir.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Wait. Woodpeckers are real?
I thought they were just campfire stories. Mum used to say they were just mums who's kids wouldn't go to bed.

I have heard them in the wild but never seen one. Good find.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22