Animals from Lion Safari in Loxahatchee Florida (Part 3)

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Primates and more! These guys were super far away but I managed to get some somewhat decent shots with a nice telephoto lens on my Canon 7d.

Make sure that if you haven't yet, check out parts 1 and 2 of this series!
Animals from Lion Safari in Loxahatchee Florida (Part 1)
Animals from Lion Safari in Loxahatchee Florida (Part 2)

_MG_8199.jpg_MG_8163.jpg_MG_8204.jpg_MG_8205.jpg_MG_8121.jpg_MG_8128.jpg_MG_8134.jpg

I loved this guy with the jacket. He was messing with it for a while, as if trying to put it on. Then he takes a few swigs of gatorate, throws the jacket over his back and then wanders off.

edit: I just found out that the elderly chimp below was Little Mama, the oldest known chimp to ever have lived in captivity (aged 79) has passed away. :(

_MG_8136.jpg_MG_8137.jpg_MG_8137-2.jpg_MG_8140.jpg_MG_8143.jpg

This little guy was my buddy. I really wanted to take him home with me!

IMG_2034.jpgIMG_2035.jpgIMG_2039.jpgIMG_2048.jpg_MG_8080.jpg_MG_8083.jpg_MG_8114.jpg

Ok so I threw a few random animals in there at the end. We were having a really great time and ended up going back and photographing/looking at some of the previous animals that we had already visited.

Check out part 4:

Animals from Lion Safari in Loxahatchee Florida (Part 4)

Sort:  

It must have been a fun day! You have a decent camera there, but getting the chimps might have been a bit difficult, depending on your lens (you didn't say what lens you used). This one here is your best shot of the chimps
Sometimes a "cheaper" camera can outperform in such situations: I got a Canon Powershot SX 540 HS 50X optical zoom, and it is amazing what it can do (for a low-end inexpensive camera). I got great zoom photos with it.
That little goat is cute - but you have to watch out, they eat anything, so don't have your wallet sticking out of your back pocket, lol

haha yeah, I know what you mean about the goats. They will munch on whatever they can get hold of. So the chimps were super far away. The lens is a Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5. The one you linked to was at iso 100, 400mm f/7.1 at 1/125 sec on a Canon 7D Mark 1. I was having a nightmare trying to get sharp shots because I was in my car the whole time and we couldn't stop for very long as there was a long line behind us!

Yeah, sometimes it is much easier with a point and shoot type camera. From what I remember I was in aperture priority mode on most of these.. Trying to get as much in focus as possible. This was my first attempt at photographing things at a distance. I think I learned some good lessons on this trip that I'll try out on my next trip!

Nice shots @nuthman. Thank you for sharing. Looks like a gray haired old grandpa monkey in there lol

Yeah haha. Believe it or not, that is the oldest chimp ever recorded living in captivity!

Congratulations @nuthman! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Amazing shots and sad about chimp, but that's a long life. I love animals in general (often useing them in my art) but getting to interact, like with the goat, that's a good day out :)

Yeah, it was a great day! That goat was super sweet. He was rubbing his head against my father in law's cane. It was so funny!

Enjoying this series. Nice to meet another LA area creative.

Thanks! I still have tons of images from this trip to add to the series. Takes a while to get through them.

Yeah, we've been in LA for years but only recently are getting more involved in the creative scene. My wife just got an art studio at the Loft down here in San Pedro. She's been so busy with paid work that she's not had any time to create much fine art. Hopefully that will be changing soon!

Haha where did he get the jacket?

He's just cool like that, I guess ;p


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58861.70
ETH 2499.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48