Future Of Waste In Edmonton

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Last week the company I work for took a few employees that were interested in the local waste management facility to a tour.

We spent a couple of hours in the Edmonton Waste Management Centre where all Edmonton waste comes after being picked up in our back alleys and from the eco-stations located all over the city.

43232234_544594245999436_3544001670272778240_n.jpg

I have to say I was not shocked by seeing enormous waste piles - Edmonton is Alberta's capital city with almost a million people.

43422613_736841179984594_3879215672927977472_n.jpg

I was more affected by the helplessness I felt from that moment on. We all have to buy groceries, supplies, electronics, and so on. How are we to reduce the waste if the goal of today's economy is mainly based on consumption?

43283101_107045770228415_4315850505029943296_n.jpg

Not many people recycle voluntarily because it's simpler to stick your head in the sand and pretend somebody will deal with the consequences later.

I think the people that separate the waste are mostly the ones that have encountered this process somewhere else. In Europe, where I spent more than twenty years, we had waste separation enforced quite a while ago and although it was not accepted well it turned out to be a well functioning system. I think the same process is happening now in Edmonton and no matter how much we resist there is no way out of it.

43231326_280417529473678_1806077599584092160_n.jpg

I admit I didn't do a lot to separating of the waste here in Canada because I didn't have to and because I felt all the waste will go to the same place anyway and be separated there.

This holds true in some cases but definitely not to the extent I imagined.

The waste we put in the blue bags will be sorted out to be recycled. The plastic, glass, and paper waste mostly. Also metal cans for canned food and pop cans.

43345370_2379257362340213_6249873419425284096_n.jpg

All the waste that we put in black bags will not be recycled because it is considered as "contaminated". Only organics will be sorted out and be sent to the composting facility, but the rest of the waste from the black bag (including recyclable plastic and paper, etc.) will automatically be loaded onto trucks and shipped off to the landfill.

Here are a few photos from the E-waste section:

43375203_244496396239522_8433896213933195264_n.jpg

43406088_636454103415999_5267306372365549568_n.jpg

43245702_2007079496001804_5115590032773611520_n.jpg

What makes things even more complicated is that not all plastic is recyclable. The multilayer plastic like plastic ketchup bottles and plastic coated paper cups from most of the coffee shops around the city can never be recycled. Styrofoam is useless when it comes to recycling as well.

This issue is not something we can easily fix at home only and it is too bad. Some products simply don't give us a choice between plastic and glass packaging and if we do have a choice we pick the cheaper option anyway (which is 99% of the time the plastic). I am not very optimistic in that area.

43357871_688589891518077_3954314868315652096_n.jpg

Let's move to the brighter side (without thinking about all the taxpayer money that will be used for the whole Future of Waste Campaign).

On the last weeks' tour of the Edmonton Waste Management Centre, I learned about the WasteWise App. I downloaded it on my phone the same day and have used it since. It has a feature that tells you where the waste item belongs if you type it in the search box. I was not sure for many items myself like kitty litter and styrofoam egg boxes but always felt lazy looking it up online. No more confusion for me.

Untitled.png

What I learned on the tour was that all the organics that are sorted out in the facility are composted. The old composting building is old and in need of shutdown so the center opened a brand new Anaerobic Digestion Facility which will: "..enable the City to process up to 48,000 tonnes of organic waste per year and divert it from landfill, create renewable energy in the form of electricity and heat, produce high-quality compost for use in agriculture and horticulture, reduce greenhouse gas emissions and remove odours created during the process by using bio-filters."
Source

fsdgfhjk.jpg

Today I filled out a survey by the City of Edmonton which is gathering information and feedback from its residents. It took me a few minutes to go through and from what I've read in the survey, many changes are coming our way in the near future.

I think changes will cause big confusion and lots of people won't like it.

The City of Edmonton is proposing four options which you can see below.

42938084_10156667470129371_2032094442445340672_n.jpg

As expected, there are already numerous critics about every solution the City presented. Not an easy choice and everybody seems to be upset with all the options. Why change?!

From further reading on the web and all the comments on social media, I've noticed many people mainly blame the City and the bigger corporations.

Here are a few comments:

"Why is the onus always on us? Go after the companies that package the products. They use excessive amounts of packaging. Get off my butt and get after them."

"It's a given that if this Mayor and a majority of Council AND City Administration are involved, the only solution will be a tax hike for property owners. Seriously considering getting out of this town."

On the other hand, I noticed some positive feedback too:

"100% on-board and thank you City of Edmonton for asking for us to be involved! Good habits start and learned at home. It is on us as Albertans to help make these changes. We ALL have waste, residents, and businesses and therefore WE ARE ALL RESPONSIBLE to play a part in making these changes. Offering FREE workshops on composting (like I’ve attended) and recycling and ways that families can make it fun & free to learn, are great ideas."

I understand that changes are not always pleasant but hopefully, the small steps will be taken and people will realize how important the issue is. If you don't believe me, you can check it out yourself by visiting the waste management facility in your area.

IMG_1199.JPG

I admit I did not try my best so far and I understand each and every one of you if you are still struggling with new ideas about waste management. Our busy lives sometimes make us feel that thinking about which waste goes to which bag is the last thing we want to do. I will try my best and I hope my family members will follow my example.

Hopefully, I didn't make your weekend any more stressful and pessimistic. I was trying to be as objective and factual as possible and didn't mean to attack anybody with this post.

I wish a wonderful Thanksgiving Weekend to everyone in Canada and to the rest of you, enjoy the weekend as well :)

Sort:  

Very informative post.

I'd love to see a bigger and faster change in Dubai as well. Being used to recycling from before, it made me feel like I will burn in hell every time after putting plastic, paper and organic waste in the same bag.

It is sad when you don't have an option. Dubai streets are clean from what I've seen but I never looked into the way the waste is handled. Fingers crossed the change comes soon.

I live in a very small place so maybe it's easier but, we have collections every working day. Mon to Friday. Mon, Wed, Fri, its food waste in white bags for composting. Tue is recycled rubbish, everything in the one bag. Paper, plastic metals etc. Thursday and Monday its black bag for landfill. The system seems to work well. Put the bags out early in the morning and by late morning everything is gone. We do have high temperatures for at least 6 months of the year so food has to be gone quickly.

Originally I came from the UK where many collections are now bi-weekly. (Smells in the summer.) The streets are full of green, brown and other colour bins. Not nice to look at. If waste is taken to the dump site and it is full up, then it cannot be left by the containers or a prosecution for fly-tipping will follow. I thought the idea was to prevent waste of energy. (The councils failed to provide sufficient capacity, maybe it is the councils that need prosecuting for failing in their duty to provide sufficient capacity. But I digress.)

France tends to have large bins in strategic out of the way places, as does Cyprus. This often requires transport to get to the bins, which may get rid of the rubbish but fuel is used to get to the out of the way bins.

I have been to countries I won't name, where everything is thrown over the wall into the street to rot away. (Well my garden is tidy and clean.)

All methods have pro's and cons but we all have to choose a way of disposing of our rubbish, and if possible reduce the amount we produce.
Whatever method is chosen it will be good and bad. Good luck with your choices
Too large a problem for me to sort out.

Shocking to see all this waste we produce. This motivates me even more to recycle.

All I can say is I’m in Edmonton and I recycle!

This is very nice to hear.

Recycling helps reduce the volume of waste, and therefore relieves environmental pollution. It also helps with natural resources, since the recycled material is reused. What you are saying is true, in Europe there is a culture of recycling, I am sorry because I did not know what to recycle, here in my country there is no recycling, but organic waste is put aside, it is said that it will soon be recycled but I see it very far, excellent publication that shows us with images and comments the importance of recycling. Greetings @penticton

howdy from Texas k4r1nn! wow there are literally mountains of waste there, amazing, I suppose the workers there have to wear masks too?
Anyway this is a great post and very educational with fine photos, I hope they keep improving their waste management system there, I know it's a very difficult problem!

Workers are provided all the safety equipment yes although I saw a few of them that chose not to wear masks. I asked the tour guide why they are not and she said it was their own choice. I would make that mandatory. Thanks for stopping by and all the best @janton

howdy again k4r1nn! oh my, I can't imagine not wearing a mask there! thanks so much for the explanation.

What we are seeing here that is visible waste. There are some invisible waste. Waste water is one of those. I work in a third party laboratory. As part of my responsibilities, I have to visit many factories where waste water is disposed without any kind of treatment. Green peace has already started the program called ZDHC and we are the partners to eliminate these hazardous substances from the supply chain to save our environment.

E40F4E29-135B-432D-8E08-EB1411BA3203.jpeg

Thanks for sharing a nice and timely article.
Image Source

Sounds like an interesting job. I work in a lab too.

Great to know that we are in the same profession. Actually, we are a team of 110 chemists and I am the lab manager here. Our core responsibilities here to identify hazardous substances like lead, cadmium, arsenic, azo, phthalates, APEO etc from a product by GCMS, ICPMS, LCMS machines. Also, we are analyzing waste water and identify hazardous substances. As we are on the same platform, hope we can share our thoughts and could be good friends:-) Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34