From my Parents backyard garden ❤️

in #nature6 years ago

This week I am spending some time at my parents’ house, and it’s such a fantastic feeling as my parents have a lot of open areas and a backyard kitchen garden which makes the air fresh and clean. It is an antidote to reconnect with nature.

:::::♥ ♥:::::


2 (1).jpg


9.jpg


43068756_2638925489451228_7686525999818735616_n.jpg


I have been seeing my parents planting all kinds of veggies and fruits from last 10 years and every year I would ask them, when am I going to taste the fruits, and they would happily tell me ..very soon, I never understood why would they keep treating the plants with fertilizers, spend hours in the garden, sowing, planting and watering when they could just buy from the market.


6 (1).jpg


3 (1).jpg


405508_366781333332333_1917471888_n.jpg


I was always impatient and felt disappointed especially when my parents would tell me to just – look and appreciate but don’t touch the plants… 🙄
But this year for the first time I saw fruits and veggies growing, and I was jumping with joy, taking pictures, I was happy to see the results, getting to see it from seeds to full-grown plants is an amazing experience in itself. ❤️ And I can understand why they were so patient and enjoyed every part of it. Honestly, even though they are not fully grown I want to pluck them and eat. But I have been told to wait for another 10 days. ☹


43103883_2639998186010625_1848646562348007424_n.jpg


10.jpg


1 (1).jpg


But I am glad to see the garden in full swing with lemons, custard apples, pomegranate, and potatoes.

Past years we have cultivated carrots, chilies, tomatoes and potatoes and I have enjoyed so much having homegrown vegetables- from the ground to the table. There is a sense of satisfaction in cooking and eating the fresh fruits and vegetables, knowing that you've grown them yourself and coming from your backyard.
Now I am motivated to buy some seeds and plant few when I return to Bangalore.


I hope you enjoyed reading my post and I am grateful for every Upvote, Resteem, and Comment. Until next time! 😍


All content and photos are by @itravelarts

Love. Swati ❤️

Follow me @itravelarts

Sort:  

Love the lemons, i see everything is potted. I assume its brought in for the winter?

Lol.. Actually, a lot of plants are in the ground but somehow I managed to take pictures only with pots.. We have just planted winter veggies in the ground soil-like potatoes and carrots.
Do you grow your own veggies thr?

Posted using Partiko Android

@itravelarts

Oh okay, cool. Im growing white potatoes right now. And yeah I grow pole beans, blue berries, muscadine and raspberries. Trying to grow cactus fruit but the winters keep killing the cacti.

Cool you are growing your own vegetables.

Beautiful photos!

Thank you dear, how are you doing these days?

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85