An Afternoon Hike Among the Cactus

in #nature6 years ago (edited)


A tall Saguaro and a Chan-Fruit Cholla

I took this hike after setting up our camp at Picacho Peak State Park in Southern Arizona about 25 miles north of Tucson. I decided I would just photograph some cactus on my hike. Arizona has been in a dry spell of some 80 days now without rain and even the cactus looked very dehydrated.
My next post will be about my hike to Picacho Peak.


Prickly Pear cactus looking like it would like a drink of water


A look at Picacho Peak from my trail


A Saguaro Cactus skeleton


Barrel Cactus


A Barrel Cactus that is split four ways. I never saw one like this before.


A tall Barrel Cactus and me


A Cactus Wren bird nest in a Cholla


Wren nest


Hedgehog Cactus

Thanks for following my adventures!

!steemitworldmap 32.6351' lat 111.4007' long Picacho Peak State Park Arizona d3scr

Sort:  

I love the barrel cacti

Right! That 4 in 1 is way cool! I've never seen anything like that.

I spotted it aways off the trail and had to climb up to check it out It looks healthy too

Well shit mom, I thought my post last week with a 4 foot red barrel cactus was all badass and here you are with what looks like a 5 foot barrel and another huge one split into 4. Not to mention that I couldn't even remember the name of the Hedgehog cactus... Your putting me so shame here lol! Solid-Red-Heart-Emoji-5353-810x810.jpgsmiling-face-with-open-mouth-and-tightly-closed-eyes.png

25 miles north of me? I definitely need to check this one out! It rained down in Bisbee today though so maybe Tucson will get some too....doubtful.

Just off the 10 kinda out in the middle of nowhere. Great challenging hike to the peak I’ll be posting about that tomorrow. So stay tuned and check it out.

Dude, Picacho Peak is calling your name! Just do it!! Don't make me bring out that stupid Shia labeouf meme again. lol.

Dude, I laughed my ass off reading that

... you are just asking for more Shia... lol.

I like the pictures. I've never been in a desert. I probably never will be able to now with my skin condition, but I can still enjoy the pictures from others.

Pictures are good and you can’t get stuck with their thorns.

I love this. I collect cacti for my sunroom plant room. So much fun. I love to have more added to my collection.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23