Daily Nature Fix: Giant's Causeway by iPhone. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago

Hi guys. Getting up in here a bit earlier than usual. I'm continuing my little series of iPhone-only images of some cool and/or scenic places. This one is the crazy old Giant's Causeway in Northern Ireland.

CausewayIphone00c.jpg

For those of you unfamiliar, Giant's Causeway is a spot along the coast of the country where thousands of basalt columns have formed and been exposed from erosion. I mean there's a LOT of them. If I recall, that estimation I last saw was around 40,000 columns or more.

CausewayIphone00a.jpg

Aside from the cool columns, the surroundings are awfully scenic as well. Theres the Irish sea (Atlantic ocean) on one side, and then some towering cliffs on the other. Quite a few of the cliffs are composed of the columns as well.

CausewayIphone00b.jpg

The columns are created by lava. During a lava flow, the surface area cools first and started to crackle, like broken glass. As the cooling travels deeper and deeper into the lava field, the cracks on the surface get deeper and deeper as well. Eventually, these geometrics columns are formed.

CausewayIphone00d.jpg

If I'm not mistaken, I believe this same formation continues beneath the sea all the way over to Scotland. I don't remember if that's actually fact or if it's part of the folklore, but I do know Scotland does have a sections of coastline like this. It's on my list of things to see!


Thanks for reading! I try to post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam
FollowBannerMay2018v2.jpg
*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

What an awesome rock formation! Haven't seen you lately. I hope you are ok and will be back soon. We miss you!

It is a mystery how we haven't heard anything from him i hope he is ok i miss him and his contest also @erikah

I thought I missed the contest because I've been away and busy. But he has not been posting lately. Let's hope everything is ok!

Yes very strange i hope he is ok but i have noticed a few more people have stopped posting for a little while i think it's due the the SBD dollar been so low i myself am becoming a little distressed giving my time to Steemit and the rewards are getting worst but i will try and hang in there things are got to get better hopefully :)

You might be right. Last time he changed the contest reward to upvotes, probably the low SBD dollar is keeping people away. I won't leave, i'll be here :)

Yep we just need to ride it out i am sure it has hit bottom now it must have to start moving up again fingers crossed :)

Yes, I agree, this is a rollercoaster :)

I'm okay, @hangin and @erikah! I've just been busier than I ever have been before in my life. I have a normal job that's been getting pretty demanding lately, as well as my own business I'm trying to run and keep up on.
You guys have the right idea though... stick with this thing and stay active during the shitty market. Keep earning STEEM cause they will be worth a ton more before too long. They say this whole cryptocurrency thing is just a transfer of wealth from the impatient to the patient. Be patient. :)

It even look as if it was formed by someone with a machine

That looks unreal! Makes me feel like they are sinking stepping stones that are booby trapped 😂 or geometric mountain growth 🤔 great post though mate thanks for sharing 👍

Geometric forms in nature are amazing. The coastlines where I live have so much to offer. I sometimes observe natural forms and if I look hard enough it begins to reveal things I never actually seen before . Its very peaceful. Thanks for sharing, these extruded column like hexagons are extraodinary :)

Impressive what you show in your photos, it seems made by someone ... Again nature surprises us.

The last photo looks like a city full of skyscrapers. 😉

Left you a message in chat.

This is incredible, I do not know if I understood the translation well, is it the lava of some volcanoes in the past that makes these rock formations so beautiful?
This is great. beautiful

Wow it looks a bed of nails with some driven in further then others.

Can i ask you are you still going to be running your @aswcontest ??

Incredible formations, we recently visited some columns here in Australia, not so low though, mother nature is so remarkable! So nice to see them from above.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86