Daily Nature Fix: Appalachia Appeal. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow nature lovers. Days are getting longer and things are slowly starting to warm up here in central Pennsylvania. It's got me jonesing to get out into the woods and do some hiking. In that spirit, I'm going to share a few photos from my favorite creek in my home state; that I've been to anyway. It's nestled deep into the Appalachian Mountains and I can't wait to get back there.

RRun00d.jpg

Two of my favorite things to see in spring time are 1) the flowers blooming, and 2) the insects starting to come out. One of the first (and most beautiful) of the latter are butterflies. Here, a kaleidoscope of swallowtail butterflies were lapping up some nutrients off of some moss growing on a large area of rock.

RRun00a.jpg

Speaking of rock, lots of the creek rushes straight through solid bedrock, which is has carved and smoothed over hundreds of thousands of years. This is probably the cleanest/clearest water I've ever seen in Pennsylvania. In some of the deeper pool areas, it's actually blueish in color.

RRun00c.jpg

I just include the photo above because I thought it was cool. I was playing around with our new nikon coolpix and wanted to put it's waterproof feature to the test. You'll notice the bed of the creek is almost all pebbles and river rock. Not mud or dirt, which also adds to the clarity of the water.

RRun00b.jpg

I've hiked a few miles up the creek now. And I mean IN the creek. There are no hiking trails or anything, so the easiest way to hike is in the water. Along the way, I've passed a good twenty or so feeder streams that trickle down to the main creek. All of which are beautiful.

Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

That creek is really impressive! I like hiking up hard bottom creeks in the summer, it's probably the best way to really see the creek. This is one of the creeks I try to go to every summer.
DSCN7457.JPG

That's a beautiful cascade! Where about's is that??

This is called Jacob's Falls, it's fairly close to Copper Harbor, Michigan, near the tip of the Keweenaw peninsula in Michigan's Upper Peninsula.
The creek that is upstream of the falls is really interesting and has a lot of small falls in it.

This eye sees beauty. aesthetic natural and amazing. And it's the best place to visit. Nice photos

I've never seen so many butterflies in one place. Looks like you were lucky! They're beautiful.
Heading to the cemetery soon 😁

Thanks @erikah! They seem to gather along creeks for about 1 week every spring. I hope to see them again this year! Be sure to check out the contest post I just made and suggest an idea for the next theme!

I already did but right now I have no idea what to suggest. I'm still thinking about it.

Just mind blowing... i like your post thanks for sharing..

Hey, no problem. Glad you like it!

Wowwww.wondarful animals nature photography...& very good your traveling...i really love your all post..thanks for sharing with us.. my dear love friend @customnature...♥…

Thanks D:::::::::

the stunning photo of the butterfly and the photo in the water was very cool

You framed the beautiful nature.Really amazing photoshoot.

Thanks for the compliment @mominsdt!

Really this is a very beautiful photography of @customnature. There is a different attraction of natural beauty which has expressed in your excellent photography and your fascinating words in your description.

Underwater is really cool...and brave :)

Cool, but not that brave. I just stuck my hand in the water with the camera. Not my face. lol

I was thinking more like are you sure it's waterproof type of bravery :)

You're killing me with this one Adam and you know why! Those butterfly's! I've never seen colors like that here. The blue ones are straight outta Avatar. Seems like I'm not going to make it to the monarchs this year but I'm not done trying!

Fortunately, those monarch go south every year! And maybe we can actually go with you next year? We do have a healthy insect population out here in God's country. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16