The Guard of the Garden

in #nature6 years ago

92acc40a-b732-43a1-8a12-37452046d29f.jpeg


I read somewhere an article about how to get rid of the garden spiders by poison. Imagine that, poison the spider. The same writer would then have you poison the insects that are invading your garden.

There's a madness in that. A folly. Something like kicking at a hurricane to stop it.

When will man learn to let it go? Nature is perfect when one just gets out of the way.

The spider eats the insects that would eat your garden. The bird eats the spider. Something else eats the bird. A new spider comes to take the place of the old, all the while, you eat from the garden. A perfect, unbroken chain.

Break a link in that chain, and the chain is useless.

How many links can be broken before even the great blacksmith called nature can not repair it?

Let the spider guard the garden....let it grow...



Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I agree - except for cockroaches in my kitchen and fleas in my home

I lived, for a year, in a town filled with spiders. Once I counted 7 types in my bedroom. I wrote stories about them - about a telepathic spider I became friends with. I also recall lying on my bed, watching a spider above me on the ceiling and I mentally warned it, 'If you fall on my bed, you are sooo dead!' I would send that message often and I must admit, I never saw them on my bed.

I hate spiders and they make me cringe if they get too close.

Although there are, in South Africa, some that can kill or disfigure people, I also believe we all have a right to that tiny space we each own of this universe.

Ah yes. In the house is a separate thing all together from in the garden. I have relocated many a spider from the home. I have also let some thrive on the porch. I have also given the death penalty for trespassing.

Our homes are separate from nature. Actually, I would say, our homes stand in defiance of nature.

It is our nest, our space. We control the temperature in that space. We control the environment of that space.

We say who gets to visit, and who must wait at the door.

The penalty for flies, fleas, mosquitoes, ticks, roaches, mice and sometimes the spider for simple trespassing is almost always death.

But, we are the visitors when we leave our air conditioned man-made paradise.

I wonder what our penalty should be for trespassing?

How is it we would also have the nerve to try and control the environment of the outside?

There is a disruption of balance in that. Really, as I wrote, just folly.

There is a folly in trying to control the uncontrollable. There is a madness.

From my observation though, we can do no real harm. The systems of nature are too big, too mysterious.

But, if man is to continue to push, continue to disrupt the scales, nature may just push back.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @call-me-howie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94