Feeding birds seed in the backyard definitely has downsides ...but

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Thank you @bearone for letting me know that I am not the only one who grows birdseed lawn. Your post and the comments let me know that I was not alone. How reassuring to learn that there are fellow lovers of birds who have the exact same problems as other bird lovers - birdseed grass!

I decided to do some pulling of birdseed grass out of our lawn. It was very easy because the soil was very wet.

Was sure that I had pulled out all the birdseed grass, but no I was wrong. Check this out!

Must come to terms with no more perfect Sir Walter lawn! It used to be!

It is all my fault - I have a couple of feeders for birds. The doves, pigeons and lorikeets are the trouble makers - they flutter their wings scattering the seed. Despite the doves and pigeons being grass feeders, birdseed grass flourishes.

You would think that this would deter me from feeding the birds. Nope, it is quite the opposite! I like bird watching more than perfect lawn.

How can I ignore the lorikeets calling for their seed in the mornings and afternoons? They have become so tame that they do not fly away while watching me walk out the to shed and pour some seed in the feeders. The patient doves and pigeons wait for their food.

What an easy lifestyle - watching birds eat seed! It is worth the pulling out of the seed grass from my near perfect lawn.

Cheers
Have a happy day.


Enjoy reading and please comment.


Sort:  

We start our day by feeding pigeons first... Appreciate your effort and hobby.

Nice to hear of your morning routine with pigeons. Glad you liked my post.

howdy @angiemitchell! your lawn is dang-near perfect! when I first started readin this post I was like, what in the world is "bird seed" grass? lol. I didn't know that they scatter the birdseed and then it grows in your lawn. I agree, the birds are more important and they know where their food comes from!
voting power is at 50% so I'm recharging.

Hi @Janton, our lawn is Sir Walter and it is hardy grass, always looking good. So that is a plus to it always looking good. Exciting to have your voting power increasing. I was excited when my voting was worth something too.

yes Ma'am the lawn is gorgeous and it sure is nice to have some voting pwer that can make a little difference.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69