Trying to eat well is easy, but what are we really supposed to eat?

Mostly whole foods... some wild and a tiny bit of I'm not sure what it is:

20190910_100950.jpg

Steem line 2.png

I started to listen to and read tons of interesting things about our nutrition, our bodies and our health in regards to how we are naturally supposed to be as humanoids!

My main podcast listening habbits consist of Re-wild Yourself and Wise Traditions. I have learned so much... I think I've become addicted to ingesting knowledge!!!


Anyhow, here I was continuing to dig holes after a failed barn raising event and after going to the hardware store I got hungry... but where can we get real Happy Meat in the middle the strip mall part of town:

Typically the four lane almost-highway with big box stores found in just about every town in the US...


Happy Meat?

That's what a buddy of mine calls it. It's any meat or fish that has had a happy life before being turned into human food. Not only is it a form of protest against the cruelty of industrial meat production, but happy meat also contains so much more of the nutrients that we need.


Going back to being hungry, I thought I'd try a nature store. Knowing things are a bit more expensive in there, I set myself up mentally and headed for the meat section.

Food plays a big role in my natural medicine practice!

Wow, choices choices.... lots of choices of really good looking meat and it was surprisingly cheap. I ended up with four wild boar sausages for 5 bucks!!! Ingredients were: feral swine, basil and cheddar, under five is good for me. That sounded simple, healthy and delicious!

Back home, we had lots of tomatoes, some fermented veggies, fresh herbs from the garden spiral and some left over bread rolls from the last birthday party. I ended up making myself a nice plate that I enjoyed very much!

Oh yeah I also added wood sorrel to have more colors and an extra flavor, I love that stuff 💚!

20190831_122558.jpg

20190831_123308.jpg

Writing this post is making me hungry!!!! The tomatoes from our local farm are so delicious... and by the way, that sausage was excellent too!


I really feel strongly about bringing back the idea that food is our medicine and medicine is our food. Eat whole foods, natural foods, and as wild as you can!!!!

Until next time and stay natural 😁...


QUOTE OF THE MONTH: @NotConvinced

When we judge others through a subjective lens, we are no better than the negativity we fight.

(If you want your quote featured here, lookout for the next contest!)

THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

coop-logo-1.png

Join Us On Discord

If you want to know what really is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

And don't forget… Dreams Come True!

Sort:  

I cant stress how much I thoroughly agree with you I changed my diet a year ago. Fermentation with every meal! Only foods we (@rakkasan84) prepare from scratch. Nothing tastes better.

Excellent! And congratulations... I know how difficult it can be to eat entirely foods we make completely all the time.

Maybe we're on the run too much and when we're hungry sonetimes we're too gar from a kitchen!

Yes to this!!!!! Paying attention to how we eat and how we make meal choices is the first thing to attend to as ‘medicine’.

And not just from a prevention perspective... also in terms of treatment.

Now I’m hungry....... 🤤

Posted using Partiko iOS

So... whay did you end up eating?

It's hard to find the right things to eat once we educate ourselves a little on nutrition!

Ironically.... ordered vegetarian Pad Thai 😄

Eating out or when you’re not at home is really tough, and that’s why so many busy folk struggle with following healthy dogma!

It’s why I developed the program when I was a clinical practitioner.... educate people on how food affects them individually, and how their bodies uniquely deal with what they eat, and understand the principles of dietary therapy; that way they can make the most appropriate choices in the moment!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ah yes... the individual is effected differently. There is no ONE cure all or anything like that is there?

It seems everywhere we look in the health of everything and everyone mentally and physically, diversity is key!

I like this eating vegetarian when in a rush... though I've started becoming suspicious of soy product, so I'll skip the tofu.

Yeah hate to say it, but soy is a problem ... vegans gonna hate on me for saying so. Not a fan of it in any way, although occasional use of tofu or making milk from fresh bean is fine.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

There is a happy meat that is actually fairly easy to come by here in Australia and that's kangaroo. surprisingly it's available in most supermarkets, but oddly, most white Aussies don't seem to like it. It's just us immigrants who have come to appreciate it and the indigenous Australians of course.

I’ve featured your post in the Homesteaders – Living Naturally newsletter


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Oh that's funny... I wonder why they don't like it. It means more happy meat for everyone else 😁! I would defenitely give it a try and hope one day to male it out there to Australia!

Happy MEAT! Yes! I'm going to call it that from now on!! Free range, local, ethically raised and caught -- I have NO problem with that! And yes, food is absolutely our medicine - and our poison, as @richardcrill found out the hard way by eating too many avocadoes :P xxx

Ha, I never knew you could eat too many avocados! Good to know for I do love them!

I know right? Had no idea either... but I guess that's what in moderation is all about

Oh no... too mamy avocados!!! That's a bummer, I love those things!

I'm with you on that - food as medicine! Your post was making me hungry too!

Yeah we really have gone pretty far from that concept since since we started domedticating edible plants and animals... and even much further once the industrial revolution.

Congratulations @senorcoconut! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You’ve been visited by @nateonsteemit on behalf of Natural Medicine!

Hooray for happy, healthy MEAT! God, doesn't it make you feel great to know you're eating the best thing available without killing it yourself? That's a step I'm gonna be making soon. I need some self harvested wild meat. Glad you're liking Wise Traditions! I'm almost done with every episode of ReWild Yourself. Gonna go back and listen through some of my faves after I'm done. Do you know any other rewilding podcasts? I need more lol

Did you know that Natural Medicine now has it's own token, rewarding natural healing and health wisdoms? You can check out our front end, www.naturalmedicine.io! If you've been involved in our community over the last year, check your wallets for tokens and stake them on Steem Engine to start curating with Lotuscoin!

NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif
Discord green_heart Delegate Here

haha Nate, sorry it took me so long to reply... I don't know any other podcasts like it, it's amazing you've got through all of them already!!!! You're a wild man.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @freedompoint on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Thank you so much you guys!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65402.71
ETH 3383.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.60