Sort:  

Thanks for the info. I'll be passing this on to my friend at work who is having a real bad year. I also agree with you about the suspicious use of language and bias towards pharmaceuticals. Doesn't seem like there is much to lose trying this out. Good work bud

Cheers mate. It's good to hear that this info might help someone :)

It's important to start the treatment in the autumn of the year before the spring/summer where you'll see the positive effect... but other than that it's pretty simple. It helps to know someone with bee hives as well but often you can get local honey in health food shops.

Yeah, it is one of those things where there really is no harm in trying local honey. I am open minded myself to lots of natural remedies, but I'm still a critical thinker in assessing any treatment, which is why I tried to use more evidential quotes from medical sources in this article than from alternative medicine. I completely believe alternative medicine can help in a lot of cases, but it becomes even more powerful for me if I can show that even medical sources prove that a natural medicine is harmless and may help.

I know many people who've had hugely transformative experiences healing through alternative medicine :)

I think that was his error.. not starting the honey treatment early enough. And I agree you need to research all your alternative medicines... but think the same thing applies to conventional medicines too.

but think the same thing applies to conventional medicines too.

Absolutely 100% agreed. I always give both options the same level of attention and consideration... even though often, the pharmaceutical option has many more harmful side effects. But not all of them are bad. Similarly there are one or two alternative treatments that I see as just too risky, especially with such severe SIBO/gut issues I have. It's all balance and trusting your assessment based on sound research 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds like you have a great take on things. I've passed on your info and hopefully he will give it some serious thought. We have plenty of outlets for local honey so sourcing it shouldn't be a problem. Thanks again.

honey has amazing medicinal properties, bee pollen as well is great to take in the months leading up to spring and summer to help with hay fever. I am lucky i don't suffer with it, or any of my 3 girls and yes our bodies have such an amazing ability to self heal xx

Yeah, it had a miraculous effect on me when I was a kid. I honestly used to have like burning streaming eyes and could hardly breath through my nose with hay fever, until I did that first round of raw local honey... then no symptoms for ten years. It was awesome :)

Ah this is a WONDERFUL entry. Honey is an amazing, amazing QUEEN of natural food medicines. Raw honey in particular is incredible for wound healing. Funnily enough, my husband tried this for his hayfever but it didnt work. However, I think he was doing it wrong. He did get the worst hayfever ever though, so bad his eyeballs nearly popped out of his head as a kid. I have never seen anybody that bad. Everyone tells him to try honey again.. we might do this year. However we did another self study and realised if he cut out histamine producing foods it made him soooo much better. Sadly, this does include beer.

I've heard, and read, that problems with regulating histamine has a big effect on allergies. In fact a lot of the SIBO people I interact with in fbook groups say they have histamine issues. I've looked into it and I don't think it's the underlying issue for me.

Honey is an amazing, amazing QUEEN of natural food medicines.

Absolutely, I'm thinking of getting some raw local honey again and combining it with a very specific diet that's meant to kill strep to see if that helps me. Just have to wait a few weeks until after my birthday cause I really want to be able to celebrate with friends and a few beers 🍻

After that I can focus on this diet which will mean no grains.... Or beer 😉

Shame it didn't work for Ur hubby. Everyone is different and maybe he's just too sensitive to pollen allergens.

P.s. if he tries it again, it's important to slowly build it up. Like a quarter of a teaspoon/day for 10 days, then half teaspoon/day for a month, then full teaspoon/day for the rest of the winter/spring. That sort of controlled build up, especially given how severe his hay fever is.

I eat honey instead of sugar. It's basically the same thing but with micronutrients and wax.

Posted using Partiko Android

You’ve been visited by @porters on behalf of Natural Medicine!

So happy you found relief from your hay-fever! Honey has been shown to have medicinal qualities and was considered as one of the five "tonic" medicines allowed by the Buddha to be consumed by 'sick' monks at any time of the day or night.

This fortnight, we're having a food as medicine challenge, sponsored by Curie! You can win over 40 Steem in prizes. Check out the details by clicking here!

NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif
Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you! 50SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SP

I love honey. I like to use it to sweeten tea ... Not only is it delicious, its properties are amazing for health.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, definitely got to have some honey in your life! If not for its antibacterial properties, for all the reasons you wrote about! Great article!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

this is so true!
My daughter moved to chicago and developed a terrible cough. Of course the doctors told her she had brochitis, prescribed zithro then doxy, and it all got much worse. Finally someone suggested the cough could be from allergies, since she had just moved. She found a raw honey (my understanding is that the honey must also be raw) produced in a Chicago city park very near her home, started taking a few spoonfuls a day, and that persistent cough cleared up within a few days!
Now whenever someone I love moves to a new locale, I suggest they buy themselves some good, raw, local honey first thing. I give it to people who move here.
I AM A BELIEVER. Screw science - the clinical results are enough for me.
Excellent post. Thank you.

Ah, the good old university days of Ramen, pizza and beer. The three food groups of good health and increased girth.

Great article. I never considered the health aspects, beyond straight bee pollen, and darn good honey on toast with Almond butter. Have to try this, as I suffer from sinusitis more than allergy. But it might help. It's all an antibody/antigen thing, as I understand it.

We used to keep bees, they were so much fun to deal with. Fascinating little creatures. Unfortunately lost all our hives twice to colony collapse. I sure do miss them. Though I'm keeping my eye out for a swarm on a regular basis. Good luck in the competition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34