Natural Medicine Editorial 🌿 Life Or Death: What Is Medicine/Health Really About?

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Natural Medicine Editorial 🌿 Life Or Death: What Is Medicine/Health Really About?


Please find that all our content is now visible on HIVE. We'll see you there!

All the same LOTUS lovin', and the same welcome - but on a far more decentralised, ethical and blossoming blockchain!

Much love!

Sort:  

I loved your reflection and the quotes used to enhance it. Thanotophobia... of course. I'm not sure I'm scared of death, just of not living life. I think Dad is the same. It is what it is, he says. But I'd like another road trip.

I do think we prolong life longer than needed, often. J's Aunt Sally was furious at the hospital for not doing EVERYTHING they could to keep her 96 year old father from dying, despite the fact he had been wanting to join his wife for the last 20 years, was frustrated with Parkinson's and very, very ready to go. She is currently suing the hospital. Or trying to. How grace is needed at times of dying and the letting go of those who leave us! I know this, but still, this sadness in my bones...

There is a wierd paradox in man where we live in both joy and fear, love and grief.

Someone I loved once gave me a box full of darkness. It took me years to understand that this too, was a gift.
Mary Oliver

I love that quote from Bardo Thodol. In conversations last year as we thought Dad was about to cark it, that's what he was assessing.. have I been a good, compassionate person? He had all the guilts... but as we said, none of them weighed up against the greater beauty of who he was NOW, and he could go with a feather light soul. To practice constantly a life of LOVE is what matters, no matter how short it is. How we have our obsessions and fears and illusions that stop us doing this!!

I asked Dad if he'd do chemo again and he said yes, because of the what ifs. It's funny... he says 'it is what it is' constantly as a personal mantra, but that includes trusting the oncologists. There's been a lot of progress made that CAN keep people ticking with a good quality of life, so why not? Thank God he's got on a trial.. an immunotherapy one I think.. so he avoids chemo again. But he'll let go when the time is right... proud of him for that wisdom and equanimity. As he says, he's just like another road trip. Life's fleeting pleasures. We do love life so.

JUMPING OUT OF A PLANE!!! Wtf, holy nutballs. No way. But yes, life. Live. Xx

Thank you for this beautiful post...

Posted using Partiko Android

he could go with a feather light soul.

shivers, here. i think, through it all, this is the highest thing i would wish for those i love who are faced with death (and us with them)... thanatophobida maybe haunts most of us, but it sounds like your dad has it licked.

Thank you for sharing the wisdom @metametheus 🙏🏼 I love listening to the Tibetan Book of Living & Dying -


ancient jewel. 🕉🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♀️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29