Natural medicine - Damiana, whats it like

Well i thought it's about time to post my thoughts on this

, first off i want to say thanks to @riverflows (hopefully you'll see this once your back 😉) for putting me on to this herb, to be honest when it was mentioned in the @natural-medicine discord server it was around adding things to wines/spirits which i’m quite passionate about making my own homebrew wines and other drinks. From that brief mention of the herb it was purchased without any thought on research on its use/affects



Assembling the supplies


It wasn't until i was sober and the package arrived that i actually did any research in to it, and once i did, i had my eyes opened 😳

It appears to have many uses but the overarching one is its use as an aphrodisiac 😅 some of its other qualities are;

  • Bed wetting
  • Depression
  • Anxiety
  • Upset stomachs
  • Pain relief
  • Boosting mental and physical stamina

So it seems like quite a versatile and useful herb to have in the cupboard.

My experience so far

Well i’ve only had it in a tea a few times but it’s been a pleasant experience, calming slightly euphoric a great means to take the edge of the anxiety i sometimes suffer from. So with that in mind im looking forward to experimenting and learning from it more, some things i’ve got planned for damiana follow below.


Thanks for the recipe @riverflows 😀


I’m not going to rehash her fine words so i highly recommend you check out her post about making damiana vodka here - Damiana Love Juice
So i’ve got a bottle of Riverflows brew on the shelf maturing away and from the little sample i did it will go down well when the months have passed 😬

I also took this opportunity to set some aside to make a damiana tincture but that will be a few weeks more before that will be ready to bottle up.


Damiana tincture


I’ve still got a video to finish on making tinctures in hindsight i should've waited until i’d done it all and just done one video as i'm not sure how this last one will pan out, i may just cut the three of them together for the last one to show start to finish


New book to mull over will a herbal tea/spirit 😀


I think my wife, as lovely as ever is starting to embrace my interest in natural medicine and even got me a nice little present for Christmas, I'm not a massive fan of the whole gift-giving charade that happens this time of year but I'm thanks for the thoughtful gifts I received books, Kilner jars and other useful things that will last for years to come 😬

Hopefully, this will bring some new knowledge and projects to the table.

GHSC Discord

Proud member of the Global Homestead Collective

Join the Natural-medicine Discord server

Upvotes, resteems and follows are great and truly appreciated. However a meaningful comment is worth so much more, don’t be afraid to say hello.

Until next time, all the best

DigitalDan

Sort:  

This is fantastic @digitaldan! I've been meaning to look for some Damiana online - going to do that this morning so I can make some of @riverflows Damiana Love Juice!

Thanks, you should do its fab 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

I´m sold on yet another project. I just read @riverflows post on ¨ẗhe juice¨. There´s got to be value in having something to look forward to which requires some patience.

It has to get in line though. Blue lotus flower and lilly of the valley are on my shopping list already. Wine drinkers take note.. Blue lotus was traditionally used in wine infusions ¨back in the day¨ (ancient Egypt) as well as smoked during cerimony. Word is it is very mild this way but something tells me the wine infusion may be something special.

Kratom has kept me busy over the past 15 months. Without rambling on about my story, I´ll just say it was a passionate prayer swiftly answered. It has resolved a serious and painful inflammatory situation. Nothing that comes in a pill did more than rot my gut or knock me out. Ive kept on a low dose, after realizing that the other cripplers, depression and anxiety were greatly relieved. And I needed purpose in my life again so I got it. Advocating for continued legal access to this divine grace in the US while the pharma network has been determined to turn the 50k+ kratom users in the US and their vendors felony criminals.

I don´t know where you reside but those in the US who value herbs and supplements should be taking notice of this since 2016 and of policy changes over the decades prior. Strategies have been in development. Whatever becomes popular- used as alternative to ¨approved medical treatment¨ will likely be subjected to the same process. Over time I can see the politics and legal games resulting in very restrictive measures to remove freedom to choose safe alternatives. Itś darker than most people want to have to be aware of. Everyone is affected, not just cannabis people or health nuts or kratom junkies (assuming that´s a term someone uses).

And policy tends to spread across nations eventually. Hard for me to comment in natural medicine without going on about this because awareness is essential to all concerned and I think that means most people whether they know it or not.
Who wantś to be limited to a single mode of treatment or black market herbs or life as an inmate for taking responsibility, using ones own problem solving ability without answering to an authority? I´m not having that.

You really should its good stuff 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Come join us at @naturalmedicine... you'll find the discord link in one of the curation posts. What you talk about is EXACTLY what we've been banging on about too.... freedom of natural medicine!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesooommmmeeee!!!!! Enjoy that love juice @digitaldan! That's a cool Chrissy present too!!!! Have you been drinking the tea? Glad you are getting into it! I'd love to grow it but am yet to source some.

Posted using Partiko Android

Looking forward to it 🙂 yeah still drinking it, its become a bit of a sunday night ritual helps take away the stress that builds up before work kicks off again. Id love to grow it also but the climate may be an issue 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah me too! I vowed not to drink today but now you're making me go for the damiana vodka... could it be a double? A damiana tea with a dash of damiana vodka? Or is that just silly?

Dont blame me! 😅 tea with a dash of rum and honey sounds like it would work well 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04