Contest Entry: What "Witch" Means to MesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

DSC00412.JPG

What "Witch" Means to Me

Keeping the wild and wise ways of our ancestors
Honoring the sacred cycles of nature
Healing traumas
Praying and communing with plant spirits
Singing and drumming our prayers to life
Journeying beyond the veil with intention and purpose
Storytelling to connect the threads of past, present and future
Growing food, medicine, and beauty
Making medicines to heal within and without
Walking the spiral path
Cooking up the universe in our cauldrons
Embodying integrity

Note: This musing is in response to a question posed by @naturalmedicine at the following link:

https://steemit.com/naturalmedicine/@naturalmedicine/week-1-round-up-what-does-witch-mean-to-you-20-sbd-of-prizes-due-date-dec-21st

Photo for fun...because every witch needs a kitty and an apprentice :)

Sort:  

Oh I love this. We are having a radio chat show next week. Do you mind if I read it out to the audience?

@thetreeoflife ...

I'd be honored. How can I tune in?

Check the @naturalmedicine blog and you'll see the details there. Come join us on Discord too xxx

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. Will do.

Are you a witch?

I'm trying to learn a bit, as I've not had much exposure to witches and their craft. Not necessarily looking to become one, just to understand better.

In a sense yes, but not in an organized or dogmatic way. Personally my path started with a seeking of who I am and who my ancestors are/were. In practice my path is about connecting to and harmonizing with natural cycles. I follow the wheel of the year to provide structure and rhythm to my life, celebrating the solstices as well as equinoxes and cross quarter dates. I revere nature and try to spend as much time as possible in the outdoors. Camping and hiking always involve foraging for plants and mushrooms which we use for food, medicine, crafts, and adornment. I gravitate towards earthy folks and love singing with others as a form of deep connection. Singing is more than that too...it is a way to add prayers and intentions into food, medicine, work, etc. I recognize that one need not identify as a witch to partake in these and similar practices, but I am connected to the word through my Celtic ancestry. Druidic, shamanic and animast practices speak to me. Not sure how well this answers your question, but I'm happy to discuss anything that may have peaked your interest.

Very cool!

I've never specifically celebrated equinoxes or seasons, but lately I've really felt their importance since getting more involved in permaculture. Matter of fact, there's a radio show on the @naturalmedicine discord server to celebrate the equinox. I hope to be there.

I never thought of druids as witches. Are they, in a traditional sense?

I'm guessing the radio show will be celebrating the solstice, not equinox...right? The next equinox is in the spring.

I think of druidism as more of an old religion of the Celts, and there are modern druids as well. I have not studied druidism and am no expert, but I have done some google research on druids and found beautiful and meaningful ceremonies to draw from. Although not the same as a witch, surely there is some overlap in beliefs and practices.

Looking forward now to joining discord so I can listen in to radio shows.

Yes, the solstice! See, I don't even know which one it is lol

This is a fascinating topic. I'm a christian, but I've always had a lot of interest in other religions. Shamanism was a fun topic when I was younger, and satanism was particularly interesting. I don't know how witchcraft got passed over.

When you're ready to join, let me know. Or check my posts. There's an invitation link to the Natural Medicine channel, where you'll fit right in. It's really the best community I've encountered on steem yet.

I have several Christian friends that plan and participate in seasonal (solstice, equinox, etc.) celebrations with my family. I think these celebrations can provide seasonal rhythm, meaning and connection for people of all faiths. It is a good opportunity to reflect on how these dates are celebrated within different faiths. For example, Spring Equinox and Easter celebrations share much in common, as do Christmas and Winter Solstice.

Yes, I've always liked hearing about how Christianity and other religions often overlap, whether by cultural adaptations or by actual timely celebration.

This story was recommended by Steeve to its users and upvoted by one or more of them.

Check @steeveapp to learn more about Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

Congratulations @belleamie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @belleamie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @belleamie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88