Sugar Rush (Movie Review) ~ An Entry For #Namscontest "The Last Movie I Saw".

in #namscontest5 years ago

Hello guys, this is for my entry to The last movie I saw initiated by @namiks to participate in this contest go here for more information....
https://steemit.com/steem/@namiks/reminder-win-a-1-000-steem-power-delegation

The last movie I saw was a Nollywood movie "SUGAR RUSH". It is a 2019 Nigerian comedy/action film directed by Kayode Kasum, written by Jadesola Osiberu and Bunmi Ajakaiye. With a run time of 2hrs 2mins, the movie starred wonderful actors like Bisola Aiyeola, Adesuwa Etomi, Bimbo Ademoye, Omoni Oboli, Jide Kosoko, Tunde Bakre amongst others.

Synopsis

Chaos becomes the order of the day, when 3 sisters tumble on a huge sum of money....

source

The movie revolves around three sisters who are struggling financially to fend for themselves and their sick mother. Fate then smiled at them when they accidentally found a huge amount of money ($800,000) that comes with many troubles. Well for them, their breakthrough had come finally, so they went on a crazy spending spree after putting their doubts about the money to rest.

So engrossed in their new lives of lavish spending, they had the fun of their lives bu tnot for long because the real owners of the money came searching for it, not one person but criminals who wants a share in the money and law enforcement officers who are investigating a case. As the drama begins to unfold, the 3 sisters realizing what they have gotten themselves into then began to fight for their own survival not knowing who to trust.

With a simple plot the movie was a very entertaining one, with full packed comedy. I mean they could literally scrap out the action part but the comedy would still keep you glued to your screen. In the midst of the comedy, they were able to convey simple messages relating to us and the society at large. You see the story of 3 ladies trying to make ends meet accidentally discovering a huge some of money.

It tries to give a nudge to the moral aspect of life, with questions of...."What would you do if you discover a huge amount of money"?. I know the answers may vary but most will end up being beneficial to that person....well for me I really can't say hehehe, I might just go on a vacation to some place of my dreams lol. The movie also tries to point out the rot in our society in relating to how law enforcement officers work hand in hand with criminals....a society where power wins and justice is like fairy tale.

source

The director did well in the casting of the movie although I felt some of the roles were overhyped like that of the villan played by Banky Wellington. I enjoyed watching Bimbo Ademoye's performance in the role of Bola Sugar, she is known for her originality and funny acts....her screen time was worth the watch and always filled with laughter. Bisola Ayeiola also did great in her role as Sola Sugar, giving us all the positive vibes like she always does. A good performance from Adesua Etomi too, who played the role of Susie Sugar but I felt she could have performed better in that role knowing how good of an actress she is. The rest of the cast also did their bits to make the movie a good watch.

When I first saw the trailer, I was so eager to see the movie...when it came out I couldn't go see it because I had a movie lined up before this which was Jumanji, after which I went to see this in the cinema. I had a good time thanks to the comedy, the initial part of the movie was okay but it started to loose its course towards the end with the introduction of the bulletproof villan, invisible cars and all....it became a bit scattered but besides that it was an entertaining one.

  • Watch Trailer here:

Thanks for reading, have a lovely day!!

Sort:  

This movie looks funny, haha!

Also, good luck in the contest. ;)

Thank you @wiseagent, I appreciate you stopping by. Have a lovely day!! 😃

Posted using Partiko Android

"What we're doing right now, is activism." Hahaha! I love that line in the trailer. That looks like a really funny movie!

Lol...yeah it is a funny one. Thanks for stopping by. Enjoy your day! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @bliss11. I loved your indepth review of this movie. I haven't heard about it, nor do I know any of the actors. The plot of the movie sounds very familiar though, from others I've seen through the years. Not really original.

It sounds like it was a fun movie to watch.

Thank you @justclickindiva and yes it was fun to watch...different movies most times has similar plot but we still keep watching them anyway lol. Thanks for stopping by and do have a lovely day!! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65573.59
ETH 2645.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86