The Printing Issue That Wasn't

in #mytechlife92943 years ago

The Printing Issue That Wasn't

I am an on-site tech for the stores of a retail chain. This day I was working at a store where the employee computers had recently been "upgraded" (can confirm they got newer computers, can not confirm they got better computers). As soon as I walked in, an employee came up to me saying quote "My computer hasn't been able to print since the upgrade." I performed the upgrades for many stores, including this one, and can say some of the new computers were slower than others, but "I can't print" was not an issue I had seen.

In my head I figured it was a printer mapping issue, computer image issue, or user error. Considering I can only help with the last one, that's what I was hoping for. The first two options require waiting on hold for an extended amount of time and maybe your issue gets fixed by the end of shift, or maybe next week. I asked her to show me the issue and we walked back to her computer.

She proceeds to show me a report in a company program, hits "Print Screen", opens a new email, and attempts to "Ctrl+V" the screenshot into the email, but nothing appears. She tells me this is how she used to add screenshots to email and I honestly don't know if there is a better way to do so using the company program on the company workstation. What I do know is this is not a printer problem and for that I am thankful.

Having watched her process carefully, I asked to try and proceeded to do the same as her only I hit an extra key along with "Print Screen" and voila, screenshot embedded in email. As you probably guessed, when we upgraded the computers we also upgraded the keyboards. The new keyboards have the "Fn" key and I later confirmed the old ones did not.

I did not grow up with a keyboard that had an "Fn" key and remember the first time I saw it thinking "when did they add that?" Turns out it existed before I was born, I just never saw it as a kid, and I was still surprised she hadn't seen it by now. I try my best to assist the day's lucky 10000 politely when I get the chance, and she was happy to learn she could add her report like she used to, just with one extra key press.## TLDR Summary:

This day I was working at a store where the employee computers had recently been "upgraded" (can confirm they got newer computers, can not confirm they got better computers). The first two options require waiting on hold for an extended amount of time and maybe your issue gets fixed by the end of shift, or maybe next week. In my head I figured it was a printer mapping issue, computer image issue, or user error. I did not grow up with a keyboard that had an "Fn" key and remember the first time I saw it thinking "when did they add that?" As soon as I walked in, an employee came up to me saying quote "My computer hasn't been able to print since the upgrade." As you probably guessed, when we upgraded the computers we also upgraded the keyboards. I asked her to show me the issue and we walked back to her computer.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64866.85
ETH 3369.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45