Sabado/Saturday : Sepiatone

in #mydailypost6 years ago

During the American Civil War The Battle of Gettysburg was fought July 1–3, 1863, around the town of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. Although difficult to estimate, approx.50,000 men died there.
image

This photo was taken at the National Battlefield Park.

But in a larger sense, we cannot dedicate, we cannot consecrate, we cannot hallow this ground. The brave men, living and dead, who struggled here, have consecrated it, far above our poor power to add or to detract. The world will little note, nor long remember what we say here, but it can never forget what they did here.

Abraham Lincoln

Mydailypost Themes:
Lunes/Monday: Sky
Martes/Tuesday: Monocolor
Miercoles/Wednesday: Macroshot
Jueves/Thursday: Naturelive
Viernes/Friday: Selectivecolor
Sabado/Saturday : Sepiatone
Domingo/Sunday: Mydailypost (Free topic)
By @leyargoz and @sol25

Here are the winners for this week's Shadow Contest!

Round 10 Winners-Geometric Shadows

Sort:  

Truly a stunning shot, Melinda! Who was it who used to say this? Insta-share :)

ha! I don't remember for sure...maybe William Tasker? I was glad I tried it in sepia...it totally changed the mood of the shot. Thank you!!

It totally works for this shot. I think you're right, it was William Tasker.

Sure wish he would join us here!

Agreed! The only places to find William Tasker these days seems to be on Pinterest and on Fine Art America, where he posts his photos and runs his Wild Birds of the World group.

Renee Bartle is waiting approval for her Steem account...if she loves it here, maybe that will convince William!

Nice! I just remembered that William is on Twitter as well. I'll look for Renee when she gets here!

Nice shot 😊

Thanks so much!

Great photo and the accompaniment one of Lincoln’s most taught speeches only ads to the poignancy of the image.

Thanks! You can't think of Gettysburg without thinking of Lincoln, can you?

You’re welcome. And, no, you really cannot separate Lincoln from Gettysburg.

Wow.....I love this!!! You depicted the spirit of that era with the beautiful sepia tones.

Your photo looks like its from 1863!!

Changing it to sepia really made a difference. What an emotional experience it was to be there.

Extraordinary photo, my dear Melinda! Congrats!

Thank you. I appreciate your kind words!!

Completely deserved, my dear Melinda! Xoxo!

Goid choice of presentation for this great shot! Sepia mahes it timeless!

Thank you! I always appreciate your kind words!

Gorgeous shot of Gettysburg! I loved that you did it in this tone. I went to their reenactment a few years ago and did a lot of B&W, but honestly, I missed the mark. This is spectacular.

Thanks, Denise. Being there is so sobering. I can't imagine what it must have been like to see a reenactment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79