My 2018 - This is my hobby: Arts and crafts

in #my20186 years ago (edited)

A pleasant day everyone! This post is my entry for the contest initiated by @anomadsoul. Another great contest and I would like to express my gratitude for creating this challenge. To those who are interested to join, you still have time and please check the link here for more details about this contest.



We have our own avocation that we used to enjoy in our leisure activity. I'm a full-time mom who is passionate with arts and crafts. It's one of my stress reliever and it leads me to who I am. Way back in my primary school, I sketched a simple interior design in my yellow pad and my classmates asked a favor to draw some and payed Php0,25cents lol! I can offer for free but they insisted, funny experienced! I was not born as a pro artist, I'm just a casual artist who have passion. In this hobbies, I'm the successor of my deceased mom, who was once an artist. She used to sketch, paint and do some crafty thing. She taught me some diy specially in my project way back in highschool. She's my inspiration. She even won 1st prize for a painting competition where she enrolled in art school. I owe her everything for teaching me those things, I'll keep it forever and share it to my son.


During my college days, I seldom make arts considering I was busy with my studies, though we have a manual drawing in Engineering subjects but that was different. Sketching some plans and etc. It's not the same thing that I'm searching for. After I graduated in college, that's the time I pursue doing crafty arts though I'm busy at my job. I've been doing simple scrapbooking since highschool. When I arrived in France, I was unemployed then and need to do something that will pleased me. I practiced some new techniques on how to make scrapbook specially the inter-active style and more. As a result of this, I sold some of my crafts and scrapbook to my friends. It was fulfilling, that someone appreciate your works. Doing this hobby helps me believing that I can do more and earn. And steemit is one of my income, since I'm a full-time mom. I can get benefits with my arts and yes, it started with my traditional arts.


Doing challenging art makes me feel contented and at the end, you will succeed. I really enjoy making new things in my crafting. Actually Polymer clay is my new hobby for the moment. Paper crafting is preferable for me, such as card making, scrapbooking, flipbook, diy embellishments, paper flower, paper baskets, and more. I also sketch sometimes depending on my mood. Other crafts that I tried are sewing (but I'm not good on it), beaded bracelets, decoupage, diorama( my latest craft), and photoshop editing which is not related to crafty thing lol! Trying those things makes me think I can do better in the future.


As a mother and wife, my hobbies is part of my daily life. My husband is an art lover too. But no need to enroll in an artisan school to pratice this hobby, another option is to watch tutorials and learn on your own no matter how many times you failed. No need to expense some penny. I do arts weekly. That's my routine and if I want to do something new, I can finish it anytime. I want to share this hobbies to my son when he grow up, just like my deceased mom. And ofcourse, contributing it to steemit community is a big factor for me. I'm happy to share some of my simple artworks where I can show ideas, tips and tutorials. Upon doing my hobbies, I have a pre-occupied mind! lol! Before I begin to create my project, I used to make some sketch or make a "to do list". Then I can start what I already prepared.


My family is my priority list compared to my hobbies. Quality time is more important thing. So I tried to manage my time by taking care of my family then followed by my passion. Talking about the expenses of my hobbies, I have this die-cut machine which is a little bit pricy, but takenote, it's better to invest a tools where you can earn and use it often, than buying useless stuff. It's a gift from my husband. And one more thing, if you want to save money with your hobbies, you can check in retailer store or second hand store. However, it's better to do your own tools or embellishments too. When I sold some of my arts, I invested it buying some materials that I know I can use in the future. And my decision was right! I used all my materials making some arts and crafts to share it to steemit, and at the same time I enjoyed doing it. I used to buy materials in a retail store name "Action store" a store in Europe with a discount price, even designed paper are only cents or 1 Euro for 24 pages with double sided designed. Cheaper compare to other local stores! Is that amazing? You save, invest, and you enjoy! I'm not a hoarder, I'm just good in picking up and choosing cheaper materials but good quality as well. Be wise in spending materials and be creative.


I consider myself as an amateur even if I do it several times. I do mistake and it's normal. Becoming a skillful or proficient in something needs more time. As an amateur, I'm already contented of my works cause I do it heartily. I'm still in learning process and maybe someday I can be an expert. Comparing my previous job and my hobbies, it's a little bit similar in terms of sketching plan, but in different way. It's more on computer thing, Autocad designing and traditional sketching is the same. It's just a matter of technology. In this part, yes it's related considering that drawing is one of my hobby.


Imagine life without hobbies makes me feel dull. Steemit helps me enhance and boost my imagination by creating more activities. I've learned a lot of new things in this platform and I was amazed by some artist who encourage to continue making your own genuine style. Arts is part of me and it cannot be taken from me. I will still continue what I've learned and willing to engaged new things in other way not just for the future but for the happiness that I will achieve. I'm thankful for the steemians who supported my artworks specially all the team who discovered my arts. In making this arty crafty thing, the best ingredients are patient, be creative, keep calm and zen, embrace your imaginations, be confident, focus, do it with love and passion. Spending some money to your hobbies is normal, just be wise in choosing your materials or DIY thing. It doesn't matter, as long as you're happy what you're doing, keep going and hang'in there! No need to quit, just keep on trying new things. Goodluck with your new hobbies!




Thanks for dropping by! Have a great day! Catch you next time! Keep on steeming!



output_mmzjaL.gif

Sort:  

Wow... You really are very creative and artistic! Idol!

Ayt, no doubt crafting is your passion. All your art posts are awesome :) And it clearly reflects the amount of care and love you give to your art. More power and congrats on your recent 3rd curie.

Thank you jazz... I would like to thank to our group who supported my post... :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tonie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72