MY 2018 – This is my hobby: my family gardens

in #my20186 years ago

I'm new to Steemit, just 15 days ago on this important platform, this is my first participation in a contest, I want to say hello @anomadsoul and @blocktrades. In my first publication, which was my introduction, there explained that I am the son of Portuguese parents, who arrived in Venezuela in the 60s, fleeing from the wars that were happening in Portugal, I was born here in Venezuela and since I was little I looked to my mother and my father who cultivated in the patio and in the planters, different plants of vegetables and to date I have continued doing it this time with my wife and children, continuing with that culture that my parents left me.

My inclination towards the cultivation of ornamental plants and vegetables, was what my parents taught me and this is a habit that became a necessity, for me plants are like pets, that deserve all the care, my parents said, and on the other hand the ornamental plants make the house happy and the vegetables give me their fruits, such as peppers, basil, parsley, chives, coriander and many more that I grow in the planters.

My parents assigned me the task of watering them in the mornings and I participated when they did the pruning work and when they paid for it, so I went along with the care of the plants, then after my parents passed away, I continued to take care of these crops, nowadays I am 54 years old and I still continue with this tradition and I like this task that is already a hobby, and for me it is a necessity to water the plants in the mornings and afternoons.

I have 48 years attending and growing plants in my gardens, as my parents did, and this I have to thank them, it is exciting to see when the plants after taking care of them, you see the first fruits, and more when you cook with your own vegetables produced in home.

It is important to enjoy the fruit of your plants, to which you have devoted enough time to grow healthy and vigorous, that is why I always control them to avoid diseases or pests that are going to damage them and I love to taste them. preparing food with my vegetables and carrying out the daily tasks under their care relax me because I focus on them.

I currently live in the house that my parents left me and therefore, many neighbors know that we grow vegetables, who occasionally request some of my crops to prepare their crops, many times I try to explain them in some way so that they are motivated to plant , but I think that is a matter of culture, which thanks to God and my parents I inherited it opportunely.

I like this hobby so much, that when I go for a walk in some field, I always pay attention to bring some ornamental plants or seeds of vegetables that I need to grow, unfortunately I do not have enough enough to grow in large quantities, although I have always thought of look for a piece of land to dedicate myself to agriculture.

Nowadays Venezuelans suffer from many economic problems, and precisely, my small gardens, have helped me in the economic part, because I do not have to be buying some vegetables, which as everyone in my country knows, unfortunately we are going through one of the largest crisis of our history.
Growing vegetables at home, is not expensive, you just have to buy the fruits you want to grow and then extract their seeds and then plant them, for this it is necessary to consult someone with experience or information from the Internet.
Within my projects, I have in mind to buy land to grow vegetables, this will do when I have the economic possibilities but I have faith that very soon I will get that dream, perhaps if I had thought before, sure this would be my main economic activity , but it is never late, everything is possible and this would undoubtedly be a great opportunity to publish in Steemit the sowing processes to motivate the Venezuelans to awaken in them the culture for agriculture, which I consider necessary to remove a country in crisis.

For me, cultivating a plant and taking care of it for me is an important pastime, because in my free time I am distracted doing pruning and cleaning work, I have a friend who has a large area of land and he brings me different seeds of fruit trees such as mangoes, guanabanas, lemons and oranges, and he gives them to me so I can germinate them in bags and then transplant them, my friend says that I have a good hand for the plants, I think that maybe it is the delicacy or dedication at the time of planting them. The cultivation of ornamental plants and vegetables has been my main hobby, and I care how to care for a child, with their food and nutrients, coincidentally two days ago I was transplanting some seedlings of peppers which can be seen in the following photo:

I got a lot of attention, about what I would say to an alien from my hobby, what I could say is that he comes to my garden and sees my fruits and brings some to his planet, I would also give him the recipe to have good flavors like mine. I think many people in Venezuela and in the world look like real aliens, this comparison comes to my mind, because many people seem to be on another planet, where oxygen does not exist and without the atmospheric conditions that fortunately, our planet Earth offers, where there is everything, to produce the necessary food that is needed for the sustenance of the population. So growing plants is my hobby, and I take the opportunity to invite them to prepare gardens in their homes, to have fresh ingredients for their meals near the kitchen and to be able to enjoy healthy and free of poisons such as insecticides. Inorganic origins because I spray my plants with juices extracted from garlic to repel pests, see you soon and thank you for reading my story.

Sort:  

Hola amigo felicitaciones por este exito que en pocos dias llevas en steemit, recuerda seguir votar y no hacer plagio!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25