MY 2018- THIS IS MY HOBBY - TEACHING AND LEARNING NEW THINGS

in #my20186 years ago

Hello great steemians!

Hope we all are doing just very fine like me.

I am so excited for this opportunity given to me by @anomadsoul to share my hobby.

We all have our different hobbies, some one or more depending on our exposure while growing up, today i would be sharing mine.

My hobby is teaching, it goes beyond being a hobby to a drive. I have so much passion for teaching and i enjoy doing it.


Image source

Teaching involves showing, telling and demonstrating an information, knowledge or skill which is unknown to the observer, hearer or follower.

Teaching has always been my hobby since i was a little girl, during my primary and secondary school days I was privileged to be among those topping the class which always made my classmates then to come to me for explanation of one thing or the other as regards what was taught in class.

I see teaching as a great privilege because you are making impact and adding value to someone's life but it's so unfortunate that some persons see someone coming up to them to learn one thing or the other as a disturbance or a reason to be proud because they have an information that some other person's doesn't have.

I love teaching because i learn from it and it also helps me retain the knowledge i have because one thing with teaching is the more you teach, the more the knowledge becomes part of you.

After my secondary school, I applied for jamb to study pharmacy, i wanted being a pharmacist, I love drugs so i wanted to be producing drugs and all that.

Unfortunately i didn't get the admission so i removed my mind from it and decided to wait for the next year to apply for another jamb.

Two weeks later, I got a call from my uncle that my name had come out to study chemistry education. It was so surprising as i had made up my mind to write JAMB again.

Little did I know that God has already made his plans for me to make me stick to my hobby.


This was how my hobby became a part of my profession.

So I took up the admission to study an educational course.

As an education student, we where referred to as trainee students because we had opportunities of being sent to secondary schools for training.

Aside the four months training experience i had in the two schools i did my training, this is the third experience am having currently where i was posted to serve my fatherland as a Corp member so i wudnt say am perfect yet because the teaching profession requires years of experience before you can say that you are an expert.

But I have decided to stick to this hobby of mine and also further it into professionalism, because that is where my happiness lies!

Having a hobby that is part of my career makes it easier for me to handle, I have seen people complain that teaching is not easy or they say that they don't even know whether they can teach.

For me, teaching is something that you have to do from your heart. It has it's own challenges and when it doesn't come within you, you will give up so quick.

Students are individuals of different characteristics and background, managing them requires alot of tolerance and a positive mind to be able to over-look their excesses.


Image source

Personally i love making impacts in the lives of people, i don't like leaving people the same way I met them so as am privileged to have students as my platform, i make sure i utilize the opportunity very well.

Aside my normal classroom teaching, i try to know this students personally and relate with them like their elder sisters at home that way, they feel relaxed and not tensed while learning.

Am so excited getting positive feedbacks from my students after teaching because i take my time to teach them in order to carry everyone along.

Sometimes i also give out prizes as a way of reinforcing them to be attentive in class and serious minded.

My hobby doesn't only come to play in the classroom as part of my career but also any where i find myself.

I look for what I know that i can teach so that one or two can benefit from it as long as i have my audience and the opportunity to do that.

It could be a new recipe that I learnt, a life hack, or anything worth sharing depending on my audience.

As part of my personal community development service i decided to take up a forum called "Ladies Corner" where I teach the females with my experience so far and also counsel them to avoid mistakes that couldn't have been prevented as a result of no one to provide guidance.

Another hobby that i enjoy too is learning new things!


Image source

You would agree with me that whenever one is not learning new things, you tend to retard in your growth.

Teaching and learning works together, when you have nothing new to teach or a different styling of teaching, it gets boring.

So for me i try as much as possible to learn something new everyday, it could be a new vocabulary, depending on how the day went or where i went to for that day!

My hobbies are part of my daily living and I take them as a priority but then i still have time for my family because i plan myself very well to make sure i fit into my schedules and do them at the right time.

Thank God for steemit too that has also widened my knowledge and i have learnt a lot of new things that use to seem difficult and challenging to me before.

Steemit is one of the best things that has happened to me this year! Am so grateful.

Thanks alot once again to @anomadsoul for this great initiative!

Friends you can Join to share your hobby too.

Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79