Wayback Music Challenge - #6 - Guru Josh Project - Infinity

This is not a good song! I repeat, not a good song!


So one of my #BeerSaturday buddies (@dennisauburn) nominated me for the Wayback Music Challenge.

The rules are pretty simple, it boils down to writing about some music from your teenage/ early adult years. I can get behind this.


Guru Josh Project - Infinity


Yesterday I mentioned that the 90s brought with it a huge variety of very unique musical artists. And it did. But not all of them were good. And Guru Josh was one of those people. Weirdly though, this song got a tonne of airplay. And while it is far from a good song, it is highly enjoyable at the same time.

The song was released in December 1989 and I still remember sitting at home and watching it on "Video Hits". I feel so old right now...

This song stands out to me from my teenage years simply for how memorable it was. It was still playing when I started going to the night clubs with my mates a few years later so it clearly struck a cord with my generation. The song was considered one of the most popular songs in the rave scene at the time of its release.

Sadly, Guru Josh committed suicide in 2015 after a long battle with drug abuse, alcohol and depression. From what I understand he was still working as a DJ up until his death.


The Challenge Rules and Stuff


Thanks to @dennisauburn for nominating me for this challenge. I've been nominated for a few over the past couple of months but have failed miserably at completing them. Let's hope that I can complete this one.

RULES:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? You blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.

Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.

Anyone! - show me your musical past!


Sort:  

I still need to get onto this, apologies mate it has been a rough week

All good mate. It's just a good way to create something different and get yourself in front of a new audience.

I just finished reading your post. Sorry to hear about your friend. It is a hard thing to live through. I hope you're alright.

Guru Josh wasn't my friend. He was a popular DJ from my younger years. Unless you're talking about my post from months ago where I spoke about my friend who suffered from a similar illness?

I need sleep.... Sorry mate rough week

All good buddy. Hit me up in Discord if you need to chat.

man, I just totally missed out apparently. :) By December of 1989, I was married with a son, and trying to hold down a job. I'm thinking I must have still been at the Savings & Loan as a teller, but I could have been fired by then. I'm not going to ask my wife, though. No need dredging any of that up. :)

I guess what I'm saying is, I wasn't anywhere near clubs by the end of 1989. Actually, I wasn't anywhere near them before that, either, but I might actually listen to music I liked in the car. :)

It sounds like you really did. I think we're of similar age as well? Did you marry while quite young?

It sounds like you might need some musical education to help you catch up with the happenings over the past couple of decades. :P

I will be 52 in a couple of weeks. It seems like you're at least a few years behind that, or maybe it's just the exercise. :) I guess people would say I married young. I was 22.5. My wife, though was almost 29.

I think I'm good. I latch onto a song or a band every now and then until the next one comes along. It's not like I've not been aware of songs, I've just not been making too many memories with them.

Most of what I like to do—writing, creating of some kind, thinking—I do better with as little sound as possible, so while some may use music to pump themselves up or to relax to, I generally listen to it when I need a break and have nothing else to do. :)

I think I've already proven several times on here that I'm the odd man out. One more thing to add to the list.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84