Wayback music challenge: Day 2 – All Blues

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

@slobberchops nominated me for this Wayback music challenge. You can read about it in the bottom of the post.

I will put on the music...

In the continued story about a young man who had to find music all by himself because he was such a sad git, we are now reaching a place of awakening. I had played the piano... alone or together with other nerds in the music school, but in 1986 I bought a Selmer Mark 6 tenor sax from a very remote family member. The lacquered brass was worn and in some places the matte metal was visible, but it was a truly fine horn. I would have liked to tell you that I still have it, but I had to sell it in times of economic trouble.

The horn gave me a whole new dimension in music: Friends.

I had brought the saxophone to a feature week the first year in gymnasium and after the lessons I was in the music room together with this long, red-haired guy. He was sitting fiddling a bit with a bongo drum and I was playing some notes now I had the horn out. There had not been much use for it in the lesson and I was still trying to make it behave so I was constantly playing it. The red-haired dude began following me on the drum and without saying a word we started playing together. It must have been intolerable to listen to, but we kept at it for a long time.

This was the wordless beginning of my longest lasting friendship.

Right after this we started playing regularly with a small group and as jazz was all the rage in those days - that was what we played. Another of my friends dropped his guitar for the double bass and we used all the time where we should have studied to play music. The music you are hopefully listening to while reading this, was our main fixation. Modal blues from the late sixties. And most of all the record "Kind of Blue".

I nominate @shortcut and/or @roused for this challenge if they like.

The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
Sort:  

I love Miles Davis! This has often played out loud and strong in my studio. It's great for expressive brush strokes! :)

Yes, it is a beautiful record. Now I hear it every time I'm at a café. Supposedly because it is considered unobtrusive and easy music. To me it is like you say an explosion of expression. I know every solo by heart, but still gets drawn into the music and out of the café :)

You really nailed this one, and what a terrific song choice: Really looking forward to the next six songs. That album has some serious mojo, Miles was fantastic as always, and to have Cannonball and Coltrane together -- it's doesn't get better than that.

I like the idea behind the challenge very much, but I'm not sure if I could do it justice within the constraints So, I'll need to think about it.

I was completely wasted yesterday due to the heat combined with my recurring weaknesses so I was a bit absent in my commenting yesterday. I am not sure you need to take it that serious with the rules. I follow them to the point because I like that it limits me. A bit like the morning papers turbo, no need to explain everything.

I have realised one thing. My high-school (gymnasium) years was very much centred around me discovering older music. I will try to find some of the contemporary music I listened to also in the next instalments.

That's a fun thing about music, one has heroes, and then one begins to discover the heroes of one's heroes, and it is a never ending journey of discovery :-)

Hope your strength returns soon!!!

Not only a universal language in place but also in time!

Boom!


source giphy.com

Hahaha, It did sound rather good. I might just go for making maxims in the future.

Maybe Shortcut wants to do it. He loves challenges.

He must be lost in his art this week, he's been very quiet -- I miss him.

source giphy.com

Yes! Miss him too.

I have not seen him for a few days, I hope he is well

He'll show up I'm sure. I think he has gone in summer mode.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25